![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Luke 11:9 ...
Done.
"Accordingly I say to you, keep on asking, and it will be given you; keep on seeking, and you will find; keep on knocking three times on the ceiling if you want me."
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) Last edited by BillyMac; Sun May 26, 2013 at 02:26pm. |
|
|||
|
NFHS 4.12.2 SITUATION: During a throw-in by A1 from the sideline by Team A the throw-in is touched in the front court by A2 before it goes across the division line where it is recovered by A2. Ruling: Legal even though Team A is in team control during the throw-in. A2 must have player control in the front court following the inbound in order to have front court status. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
So what is the right decision here? In FIBA rulebook there is: 30.1.2 The ball has been illegally returned to the backcourt when a player of the team in control of the live ball is the last to touch the ball in his frontcourt, after which that player or a team-mate is the first to touch the ball in the backcourt. and 14.1.1 Team control starts when a player of that team is in control of a live ball by holding or dribbling it or has a live ball at his disposal. So it's quite similar to NBA. Quote:
|
|
|||
|
It's only similar to the NBA in that a team in control of the can't be the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt and the first to touch the ball in the backcourt. This is pretty much the same as NFHS (American (for the most part) high school rules) and NCAA rules.
Where it'll be different in the NBA is that team control ends on a defensive deflection. Team control does not end on a simple deflection by the defense under FIBA/NFHS/NCAA rules. So if a defensive player deflects a ball off an offensive player, while his team has control of the ball in the frontcourt (team control continues while a team is passing the ball and only ends if the ball becomes dead, there's a shot attempt, or the other team gets the ball), and the offense is the first to touch the ball in the backcourt, it would be a violation under NCAA/NFHS, and I'm 90 percent sure under FIBA rules. Under NBA rules, since team control ends on a defensive deflection, there would be no violation.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
So what is the right decision here? In FIBA rulebook there is:
30.1.2 The ball has been illegally returned to the backcourt when a player of the team in control of the live ball is the last to touch the ball in his frontcourt, after which that player or a team-mate is the first to touch the ball in the backcourt. and 14.1.1 Team control starts when a player of that team is in control of a live ball by holding or dribbling it or has a live ball at his disposal. You answered your own question. 30.1.2 says that team control is needed. In the video you provided, the team in red does not have team control. So it was not a violation. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| [Video Request] Backcourt off of halfcourt pass/shot? | Afrosheen | Basketball | 39 | Wed May 15, 2013 02:39pm |
| Backcourt Violation? with Video | referee99 | Basketball | 27 | Fri Mar 15, 2013 02:34pm |
| I'll let Mark or Billy provide punch lines | fullor30 | Basketball | 9 | Tue Jan 19, 2010 05:10am |
| I think ASA needs to provide ruling re Clarity Stealth | wadeintothem | Softball | 18 | Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:54pm |
| Backcourt or not? Video included | rgncjn | Basketball | 6 | Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:40am |