The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Mar 07, 2012, 11:53pm
Official Forum Member

Travel much?

Austin Rivers

Maybe APG can embed it. I couldn't get it to work.

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Old Thu Mar 08, 2012, 12:07am
We don't rent pigs

A lot of interesting comments with the clip. I only saw one I liked.

Quote:
I am neither a Duke or North Carolina fan. I have been a head high school coach in Indiana for 18 years. By rule, in every clip, Rivers did travel. What this shows is how the game has changed. Over the last two decades, the college game is officiated more like the pro game. The same is true with the high school game as well.
+1

Lonesome Dove
Old Thu Mar 08, 2012, 12:10am
Official Forum Member

Objectivity Notice- I grew up a UNC fan, then went to the Univ. of Maryland SO I've hated Dook for at least 23 of the 33 years I've been alive.

On the other side of the coin. I am an official who does not like to guess on travels and would much rather err on the side of not calling what might be a travel instead of calling one that isnt.

All that said, you HAVE to call at least 2 or 3 of those. You simply CANNOT defend a guy when he's allowed to reposition his pivot foot like that before he puts the ball down.
Old Thu Mar 08, 2012, 12:28am
Official Forum Member

Must be something in the water...or the Men's D-I meetings

I'm a Big East guy so I don't like any of 'em

Over the past few years I've come to the conclusion D-I men's coaches must have told their conference supervisors they don't want travel calls on the perimeter when offensive players aren't under heavy pressure (i.e., facing a double team). That's the only way I can explain it.

It drives me nuts because H.S. kids see this and then look at you like you've lost your mind when you call them for doing it. My travel moments of the season: