Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul
Just to clarify, are you saying that the ball and only the ball made contact with the defender?
If the offensive player intentionally "used the ball as a weapon" to clear out an opponent, I'd probably have an intentional foul on the offense.
But if it was not intentional and happened (as you said) unintentionally with the player trying to gather the ball and land, I'm calling it like I would a normal block/charge play ... I'm looking at whether or not the defender have legal guarding position and going from there.
|
Count me in the camp that believes this way of thinking and officiating such action is dead wrong BY RULE.