![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|||
Re: From NFHS Forum
Quote:
From the above: "BktBallRef Member Member # 251" As the old saying goes, "He's everywhere, hes everywhere. Now to the subject. LGP is only one part of the block/charge scenario. There could well be a charge even if there never was LGP as the dribbler or any other player cant just run over someone else. I personally have some problems with the new editorial comments and hope we see a further clarification. What about the 3ft rule? Are we going to allow a collision (call a block) because B1 has his foot on the line? This when A1 has had many steps to avoid the contact? Not in my book. Want to talk about ruff play? |
|
|||
Re: Re: From NFHS Forum
Quote:
|
|
|||
I think that the editorial change was not well thought out and I do not think that Larry Boucher's interpretation, though it has considerable weight, cannot be supported by rule.
The following rule has to do with throw-in violations. NFHS R9-S2-A2: The thrower shall not fail to pass the ball directly into the court from out-of-bounds so it touches or is touched by another player (inbounds or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched. The Rules Committee in the above rule states that a player in this situation is considered on the court even if he is touching out of bounds.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Re: OK lets try this one more time
Quote:
#2 - Lighten up, dude. You just got here. We've been here for years and enjoy a little light hearted banter. If you don't, just ignore it. But either way, you can't dictate to people what and what not to post. #3 - "how this will impact our decision on a block/charge ruling?" I don't think it's possible to answer that until we get a direct interpretation.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Just got The Word from Howard, our commissioner and local rules god:
Re forum discussion: Rule 4-23-Art 2 states - To obtain an initial guarding position: a. The guard must have both feet touching the playing court. Art 3 states: After the initial legal guarding position is obtained: a. The guard is not required to have either or both feet on the playing court or continue facing the opponent. Further notes that I received from the Federation: Further clarifies that the guard must have both feet on the "playing court" (rather that floor) to establish legal position. Also clarifies that a defender who sets up with one foot in bounds and one foot outside a boundary line has not established a legal guarding position. The above is for initially obtaining a legal guarding position. Re: Art 3 - Once a legal guarding position has been obtained, a guard could have one or both feet off the playing court and not be facing his/her opponent. I replied: What about a foot completely in, and a foot partly in? That foot partly in, is technically out, correct? So both feet must be completely in-bounds to establish legal guarding position? Why not just say it that way, and avoid all the discussion? He replied back: YES, THE FEET MUST BE TOTALLY IN BOUNDS OR ON THE PLAYING FLOOR IN ORDER TO OBTAIN A LEGAL GUARDING POSITION INITIALLY. THE COMMITTEE COULD HAVE MADE THE INTERPRETATION EASIER BY USING THE WORDS 'IN-BOUNDS'. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
In NF rule 1-1, dimensions are given for the "playing court". These are the dimensions for the inbounds area only. The term "court" is used further on in rule 1 to indicate the minimum 3 foot OOB distance, but that section does not use the term "playing court", only "court". I think the NF is making a distinction between the two. I am going to interpret "playing court" as the inbounds area. If you don't like it - tough noogies. ![]()
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
What you described is clearly an "intentional player control foul" and has nothing to do with where the defenders' feet are. That dribbler lacks the savoire faire of hoops. mick |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Sigh....
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
The big deal is to make sure that all the officials call it the same way. I don't care which way the interpretation goes, but I want to see a clarification so that everybody is calling it the same way. Just my 2 cents.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|