View Single Post
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 25, 2003, 11:26am
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
But it doesn't say "in-bounds". What it says is that both feet must be touching the "playing court". I don't have my book with me, but it seems to me I remember a discussion on this board about whether that includes more than just the in-bounds playing area. So I'm not sure how mych this "clarification" helps.
I think the term "playing court" means inbounds. Here's why:

In NF rule 1-1, dimensions are given for the "playing court". These are the dimensions for the inbounds area only. The term "court" is used further on in rule 1 to indicate the minimum 3 foot OOB distance, but that section does not use the term "playing court", only "court". I think the NF is making a distinction between the two.

I am going to interpret "playing court" as the inbounds area. If you don't like it - tough noogies.

Still, two points remain:
  1. It's only for establishing position. If the defender obtains LGP before stepping on the line, they may still be in LGP once they are on the line no matter how far OOB the foot is.
  2. The rule says "touching the playing court". As I've said, a foot my be touching the playing court and also be touching OOB. So, as written, obtaining LGP is still possible unless the foot is entirely OOB.
Reply With Quote