View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 24, 2003, 11:49am
rainmaker rainmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Just got The Word from Howard, our commissioner and local rules god:


Re forum discussion: Rule 4-23-Art 2 states - To obtain an initial guarding position:
a. The guard must have both feet touching the playing court.
Art 3 states: After the initial legal guarding position is obtained: a. The guard is not required to have either or both feet on the playing court or continue facing the opponent.

Further notes that I received from the Federation: Further clarifies that the guard must have both feet on the "playing court" (rather that floor) to establish legal position. Also clarifies that a defender who sets up with one foot in bounds and one foot outside a boundary line has not established a legal guarding position.

The above is for initially obtaining a legal guarding position. Re: Art 3 - Once a legal guarding position has been obtained, a guard could have one or both feet off the playing court and not be facing his/her opponent.


I replied:

What about a foot completely in, and a foot partly in? That foot partly in, is technically out, correct? So both feet must be completely in-bounds to establish legal guarding position? Why not just say it that way, and avoid all the discussion?

He replied back:

YES, THE FEET MUST BE TOTALLY IN BOUNDS OR ON THE PLAYING FLOOR IN ORDER TO OBTAIN A LEGAL GUARDING POSITION INITIALLY.
THE COMMITTEE COULD HAVE MADE THE INTERPRETATION EASIER BY USING THE WORDS 'IN-BOUNDS'.

Reply With Quote