View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 24, 2003, 06:54pm
Mark Padgett Mark Padgett is offline
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
But it doesn't say "in-bounds". What it says is that both feet must be touching the "playing court". I don't have my book with me, but it seems to me I remember a discussion on this board about whether that includes more than just the in-bounds playing area. So I'm not sure how mych this "clarification" helps.
I think the term "playing court" means inbounds. Here's why:

In NF rule 1-1, dimensions are given for the "playing court". These are the dimensions for the inbounds area only. The term "court" is used further on in rule 1 to indicate the minimum 3 foot OOB distance, but that section does not use the term "playing court", only "court". I think the NF is making a distinction between the two.

I am going to interpret "playing court" as the inbounds area. If you don't like it - tough noogies.

__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote