![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
What if you dive for a loose ball and your momentum causes you to roll with it?
__________________
I don't know what "signature" means. |
|
|||
|
You travelled.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Yep - I screwed up. You and Rut are right. It's sliding, not rolling, that's allowed by the "momentum situation".
__________________
I don't know what "signature" means. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without *violating? RULING: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a time-out. Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is *traveling unless A1 is dribbling. It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball. ======================= NCAA A.R. 135. Is it traveling when a player: (3) Gains control of the ball while sliding on the playing court and then, because of momentum, rolls or slides, after which the player passes or starts a dribble before getting to his or her feet? RULING: (3) No. The player may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a timeout. Once the player has the ball and is no longer sliding, he or she may not roll over. When flat on his or her back, the player may sit up without violating. When the player puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is the first to touch the ball, it also is traveling. When a player rises to his or her feet while holding the ball and moves the pivot foot, it is traveling. When a player falls to one knee while holding the ball, it is traveling if the pivot foot moves.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
All movements as part of the momentum are legal. Only once momentum has ceased does rolling over become a travel.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Two questions | SamG | Football | 17 | Wed Feb 10, 2010 08:48am |
| Few Questions | ref18 | Basketball | 20 | Fri Apr 16, 2004 03:55pm |
| Thanks, & new questions | robertclasalle | Basketball | 17 | Tue Jan 13, 2004 03:05pm |
| Two questions. | Illini_Ref | Basketball | 1 | Wed Dec 03, 2003 11:13am |
| Questions | Jake80 | Basketball | 22 | Thu Nov 14, 2002 06:28pm |