Thread: A few questions
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 08, 2013, 12:37am
JRutledge JRutledge is offline
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by Official View Post
1) On an OOB throw in if the in-bounder steps onto the court before releasing the ball is this a violation or does the in-bounder have to step completely over the line?
The line is out of bounds. You have to step onto the court or not the line to be considered in-bounds.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Official View Post
2) Can a time-out be requested by a player in the air falling out of bounds or into the backcourt?
Yes in NF rules. It NCAA rules no you cannot if the issue is going out of bounds. Not sure the rule applies to the backcourt.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Official View Post
3) My understanding: A player can pivot after a jump if they gathered the ball mid-air but if the player gathered the ball prior to jumping they may not use a pivot after the completion of the jump stop?
A lot you are asking here. That depends on what you call a jump stop. But if you jump complete a legal jump stop after a dribble being stopped, then yes you cannot use a pivot foot. If you are talking about catching the ball in the air, the first foot or both foot may be used if the right things take place.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Official View Post
4) Traveling related again: How far does a player actually have to roll over with possession of the ball to be considered a travel. I've seen players in college roll over and call a timeout with possession.
You cannot roll over while on the floor. It is not a matter of length or timing. But of course you must have possession of the ball. And rolling over would not be by many considered simply turning.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Official View Post
5) Does the closely guarded count continue if ANY defender is within 6 ft of the offensive player with the ball.
-Meaning if defender A is closely guarding offensive player A while the closely guarded count is at 3 seconds and then defender B switches over to offensive player A while defender A is no longer closely guarding the offensive player.
It does in NF Rules. NCAA rules require a different count for a different player.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote