Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
Well considering that a dribble is done with one hand legally and players tend to have to "stop" the dribble on some level while using one hand. But since he brings the ball to both hands, that is the time I would consider more of a gather. Before that time he is attempting to gather the ball.
And there is such a thing as gathering as it is when someone is trying to catch the ball. Just because you do not have a pretty little definition does not mean it would not apply. And when we have no definition of a catch in basketball either like other sports, then when they actually catch the ball with your logic also is up for debate. As I said, I see both feet on the floor when the finally catches the ball and either foot can be the pivot at that time.
Sometimes we have to officiate and always expecting every rule to cover all situations and examples is silly.
Peace
|
The point remains that the dribble ends, by definition, the moment the holding begins. The dribble is stopped by "holding" the ball in one or both hands. To introduce anything else is, by rule, just not correct.
You can't introduce football concepts where a catch needs to be defined (because whether the pass is complete or not depends on it) into basketball where it just doesn't apply.
If the player committed a foul at that moment, would it be a player control foul? If you say yes, that means they are either holding the ball or dribbling the ball. There are no other choices. If you're not going to let them dribble again, that means the dribble has ended and they are holding the ball. If you say no, then you have introduced even more made-up rules that will require another discussion.