Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
Please.
There is no rules support that what was shown in the picture was control of the ball either. Better yet, where is the definition for catch in the rulebook? And in the video he brought both hands together on the ball as he was spinning.
Not everything needs a definition to know when to determine control takes place and it is still a judgment call. I do not see definitive control in this picture and why pictures are terrible to show what took place with a game in constant motion. If you need rules support for everything, then officiating is going to be very difficult. You even said your self this could have been a bobble.
Peace
|
At some moment, the dribble ends. How does it end? It ends by the player catching the ball with one or both hands. In the above case, when does it end? Would you think is legal for the player in the still shot to then turn the ball back over and dribble again? No....at least I hope not. Why? Because he has ended the dribble by catching the ball. And to dribble again would be an illegal dribble (also known as a carry...which only happens when they hold the ball mid-dribble).
There is no such thing as gathering and the rules do not go anywhere near what you are trying to suggest. There is nothing about two hands being required to be holding the ball. There is also no magical window between when the dribble ends and when the player starts holding the ball. It transitions directly from one to the other.
Dance around it all you want, but you're making up your own rules when you bring "gather" and "two hands" into what is required to be holding the ball.
The moment the dribble ends is when the foot restrictions begin.