![]() |
|
|||
That first play is a travel - and not a ticky-tack one, either.
Good no-call on the second play - defender is in his position before shooter leaves the floor, but only minimal side contact. Play on.
__________________
HOMER: Just gimme my gun. CLERK: Hold on, the law requires a five-day waiting period; we've got run a background check... HOMER: Five days???? But I'm mad NOW!! |
|
|||
Quote:
Thanks for posting. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Travel. You cannot play defense when the ball handler is allowed to pick up then replant his pivot foot.
No call on next play.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Sat Feb 23, 2013 at 10:58am. |
|
|||
Quote:
At the point shown below, his dribble had ended by catching the ball in one hand (if he dribbled again after this it would be a carry). It doesn't take two hands on the ball to hold the ball. ![]() The left foot is off the floor making his right foot the pivot when the left foot touches. To allow the foot movement in this play is just not intended by the rules. It might be fair to say that some, even many, officials might not see it and call it, but it is incorrect to say it isn't a travel.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Sat Feb 23, 2013 at 12:10pm. |
|
|||
You cannot take a picture and then make assumptions based only on the picture. Sorry Camron but that almost never works as what happened right before or I could make a case that the player had not gathered yet.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
No assumptions here about anything. This picture is just the highlight of what the video clearly shows.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
But, in this case, we've seen the entire video. It isn't. He wasn't.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
No rule support for this. It is possible to catch the ball in one hand. In this particular case, the ball comes to rest in the one hand. Player has both hands on it a split second later.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() There is no rules support that what was shown in the picture was control of the ball either. Better yet, where is the definition for catch in the rulebook? And in the video he brought both hands together on the ball as he was spinning. Not everything needs a definition to know when to determine control takes place and it is still a judgment call. I do not see definitive control in this picture and why pictures are terrible to show what took place with a game in constant motion. If you need rules support for everything, then officiating is going to be very difficult. You even said your self this could have been a bobble. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) Last edited by JRutledge; Sat Feb 23, 2013 at 02:24pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
There is no such thing as gathering and the rules do not go anywhere near what you are trying to suggest. There is nothing about two hands being required to be holding the ball. There is also no magical window between when the dribble ends and when the player starts holding the ball. It transitions directly from one to the other. Dance around it all you want, but you're making up your own rules when you bring "gather" and "two hands" into what is required to be holding the ball. The moment the dribble ends is when the foot restrictions begin.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Well considering that a dribble is done with one hand legally and players tend to have to "stop" the dribble on some level while using one hand. But since he brings the ball to both hands, that is the time I would consider more of a gather. Before that time he is attempting to gather the ball.
And there is such a thing as gathering as it is when someone is trying to catch the ball. Just because you do not have a pretty little definition does not mean it would not apply. And when we have no definition of a catch in basketball either like other sports, then when they actually catch the ball with your logic also is up for debate. As I said, I see both feet on the floor when the finally catches the ball and either foot can be the pivot at that time. Sometimes we have to officiate and always expecting every rule to cover all situations and examples is silly. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
You can't introduce football concepts where a catch needs to be defined (because whether the pass is complete or not depends on it) into basketball where it just doesn't apply. If the player committed a foul at that moment, would it be a player control foul? If you say yes, that means they are either holding the ball or dribbling the ball. There are no other choices. If you're not going to let them dribble again, that means the dribble has ended and they are holding the ball. If you say no, then you have introduced even more made-up rules that will require another discussion.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Sat Feb 23, 2013 at 04:13pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
FIU-Arkansas St. ruling | TriggerMN | Football | 6 | Fri Oct 21, 2011 02:54pm |
LSU/Arkansas Clock Situation | Fan10 | Football | 10 | Thu Dec 02, 2010 02:10pm |
LSU vs Arkansas | jwwashburn | Football | 7 | Mon Nov 26, 2007 01:12pm |
Arkansas-Florida Muffed Punt | BoomerSooner | Football | 11 | Mon Dec 04, 2006 03:35pm |
Memphis/Arkansas | rainmaker | Basketball | 2 | Fri Jan 04, 2002 02:15am |