The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2013, 12:51pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
No assumptions here about anything. This picture is just the highlight of what the video clearly shows.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2013, 12:59pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
No assumptions here about anything. This picture is just the highlight of what the video clearly shows.
Gathering the ball is an overall action, not a split second moment. All the picture shows is a ball kind of in the hand, but not necessarily in control or the moment a pivot foot or pivot feet have been established. Like I tell fans, you cannot show me a picture and tell the story of what was called or not called. Why is this picture so special?

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2013, 01:16pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Gathering the ball is an overall action, not a split second moment. All the picture shows is a ball kind of in the hand, but not necessarily in control or the moment a pivot foot or pivot feet have been established. Like I tell fans, you cannot show me a picture and tell the story of what was called or not called. Why is this picture so special?

Peace
The picture appears to show the ball resting in the player's hand with the right foot firmly on the floor, thus establishing it as the pivot. Yes, a still picture such as this can be deceptive. He could have been bobbling the ball.

But, in this case, we've seen the entire video. It isn't. He wasn't.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2013, 01:21pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
The picture appears to show the ball resting in the player's hand with the right foot firmly on the floor, thus establishing it as the pivot. Yes, a still picture such as this can be deceptive. He could have been bobbling the ball.

But, in this case, we've seen the entire video. It isn't. He wasn't.
The key word, "appears." I do not see any definite control and I would not consider that action alone a gather until the players brought the ball with both hands on some level. And once again, was this picture taken after the gather or before the gather. Either way if your argument is that this picture proves something, it does not in my mind. It might have been a travel, but it was not called, so someone judged it was not illegal whether you agree with the call or not.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2013, 01:32pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
The key word, "appears." I do not see any definite control and I would not consider that action alone a gather until the players brought the ball with both hands on some level.
No rule support for this. It is possible to catch the ball in one hand. In this particular case, the ball comes to rest in the one hand. Player has both hands on it a split second later.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2013, 02:22pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
No rule support for this. It is possible to catch the ball in one hand. In this particular case, the ball comes to rest in the one hand. Player has both hands on it a split second later.
Please.

There is no rules support that what was shown in the picture was control of the ball either. Better yet, where is the definition for catch in the rulebook? And in the video he brought both hands together on the ball as he was spinning.

Not everything needs a definition to know when to determine control takes place and it is still a judgment call. I do not see definitive control in this picture and why pictures are terrible to show what took place with a game in constant motion. If you need rules support for everything, then officiating is going to be very difficult. You even said your self this could have been a bobble.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)

Last edited by JRutledge; Sat Feb 23, 2013 at 02:24pm.
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2013, 03:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Please.

There is no rules support that what was shown in the picture was control of the ball either. Better yet, where is the definition for catch in the rulebook? And in the video he brought both hands together on the ball as he was spinning.

Not everything needs a definition to know when to determine control takes place and it is still a judgment call. I do not see definitive control in this picture and why pictures are terrible to show what took place with a game in constant motion. If you need rules support for everything, then officiating is going to be very difficult. You even said your self this could have been a bobble.

Peace
At some moment, the dribble ends. How does it end? It ends by the player catching the ball with one or both hands. In the above case, when does it end? Would you think is legal for the player in the still shot to then turn the ball back over and dribble again? No....at least I hope not. Why? Because he has ended the dribble by catching the ball. And to dribble again would be an illegal dribble (also known as a carry...which only happens when they hold the ball mid-dribble).

There is no such thing as gathering and the rules do not go anywhere near what you are trying to suggest. There is nothing about two hands being required to be holding the ball. There is also no magical window between when the dribble ends and when the player starts holding the ball. It transitions directly from one to the other.

Dance around it all you want, but you're making up your own rules when you bring "gather" and "two hands" into what is required to be holding the ball.

The moment the dribble ends is when the foot restrictions begin.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FIU-Arkansas St. ruling TriggerMN Football 6 Fri Oct 21, 2011 02:54pm
LSU/Arkansas Clock Situation Fan10 Football 10 Thu Dec 02, 2010 02:10pm
LSU vs Arkansas jwwashburn Football 7 Mon Nov 26, 2007 01:12pm
Arkansas-Florida Muffed Punt BoomerSooner Football 11 Mon Dec 04, 2006 03:35pm
Memphis/Arkansas rainmaker Basketball 2 Fri Jan 04, 2002 02:15am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1