The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 14, 2013, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 15
When is A jump stop consider a travel?

If the dribbler jump stops 5ft from where he picked up his dribble, is that a travel?

Thanks

Coach Lou
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 14, 2013, 10:19am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,982
It depends if he legally executed the jump stop or not. There is not specific distance that constitutes a travel.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 14, 2013, 10:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 29
Dribbler picks up dribble jumps off 1 foot, must land simultaneously on both feet, can use either foot as pivot, but what can happen is they will land with one foot hitting before the other and then take a step to shoot or pass which is a travel. Distance on jump is inconsequential, IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 14, 2013, 10:28am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,982
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinP View Post
Dribbler picks up dribble jumps off 1 foot, must land simultaneously on both feet, can use either foot as pivot
Are you sure?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 14, 2013, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinP View Post
Dribbler picks up dribble jumps off 1 foot, must land simultaneously on both feet, can use either foot as pivot, ...
4-44-2

Last edited by rekent; Thu Feb 14, 2013 at 10:31am.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 14, 2013, 10:30am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,726
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinP View Post
Dribbler picks up dribble jumps off 1 foot, must land simultaneously on both feet, can use either foot as pivot, but what can happen is they will land with one foot hitting before the other and then take a step to shoot or pass which is a travel. Distance on jump is inconsequential, IMO.
Doesn't this make it a travel?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 14, 2013, 10:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 15
If the I read the rule correctly:

The distance is not an issue.

How high the player jumps is not an issue.

But, the player MAY NOT pivot.

Correct?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 14, 2013, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 29
My bad, he can lift either foot to shoot or pass after he lands simultaneously on both feet.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 14, 2013, 10:42am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 12,707
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Lou View Post
If the dribbler jump stops 5ft from where he picked up his dribble, is that a travel?
...
That's one of the more interesting concepts I've ever seen proposed in the forum.

What caused you to ask this question?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 14, 2013, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Lou View Post
If the I read the rule correctly:

The distance is not an issue.

How high the player jumps is not an issue.

But, the player MAY NOT pivot.

Correct?
The first two parts are correct.

The second depends on what you mean by "jump stop". I don't think the term is specifically defined in NFHS rules, and it's generally used to refer to two different scenarios. Under one the player can pivot, under the other the player cannot pivot.

So, you'll need to be more specific about exactly what transpired.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 14, 2013, 10:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 15
Honestly, I hesitate a lot before making this call. I like to be 100 percent sure that the player traveled.

On that note, more and more players jump stop now a days (in my area anyways) and some officials tend to call it a travel very quickly.

I coach and official. I like to make sure I have my proper arguments for both situations.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 14, 2013, 10:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 15
Sorry, when I say "jump stop" I'm referring to:
Dribbler picks up dribble jumps off 1 foot and lands simultaneously on both feet. So, does the distance he travels in the air play a part on wether it's a violation or not?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 14, 2013, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Lou View Post
Sorry, when I say "jump stop" I'm referring to:
Dribbler picks up dribble jumps off 1 foot and lands simultaneously on both feet. So, does the distance he travels in the air play a part on wether it's a violation or not?
A legitimate "jump stop" is not a travel. Distance is irrelevant.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 14, 2013, 11:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Lou View Post
Sorry, when I say "jump stop" I'm referring to:
Dribbler picks up dribble jumps off 1 foot and lands simultaneously on both feet. So, does the distance he travels in the air play a part on wether it's a violation or not?
Distance never matters.

In the play you describe, the player cannot pivot. If the feet don't land simultaneously, the play is a travel (some small allowance on simultaneously is ofen made).

In the play where the player gathers the ball in the air, then lands on both feet, either can be the pivot. If one foot lands first, that foot is the pivot.

Sometimes it can be very difficult to tell the difference between play 1 and play 2, especially if the player is "gathering" just as the player is leaving the gound.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 14, 2013, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NB/PEI, Canada
Posts: 674
Whether you mean jump stop:

A) The player gathers the ball on 1 foot and hops to land on two.

B) Player hops and gathers the ball to land on two.

The distance travelled in the hop is irrelevant it just makes it a tougher move to defend (because of the correlation to the agility and athleticism needed to execute it legally).

Without getting back into it, I think this board has discussed many times the difficulties and inconsistencies in travel calls.
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game!

Me: Thanks, but why the big rush.

Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jump Stop Travel APG Basketball 5 Fri Jun 15, 2012 11:21am
video on jump stop, daughter gets called for travel jump stop Basketball 75 Mon Jun 11, 2012 02:31pm
Jump stop then pivot...Travel? The R Basketball 35 Thu Mar 22, 2012 07:45pm
Jump Stop Travel KSRef07 Basketball 24 Fri Oct 19, 2007 10:04am
why isnt the jump stop a travel? mrkleen Basketball 17 Sat Feb 04, 2006 11:06am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1