![]() |
|
|||
A play for clarification
1) girls varsity, under minute to play, 5 pt game, Team A behind, A1 shoots and is fouled, basket good, official counts basket, communicates basket good and goes to table to report, turns to official administering free throw with one finger in air, then turns to address a question from coach standing right next to him. official not paying attention to what is going on, gives 2 shot signal to girls and bounces ball for shot. First shot misses, no one moves, ball bouncing in middle of lane for what seems like forever, finally B1 steps in grabs ball and throws it out of bounds to official under basket. Ruling? Possesion arrow or Team B gets ball.
Went with Possesion arrow back to Team A, Team B coach not happy!
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE! |
|
|||
Your case is not entirely clear: if the administering official signaled 2 FT's, then you'd have a CE situation. But it sounds as if he did not try to recover the ball after the first attempt or prepare for the second.
You could have called it a CE situation and resumed from the POI, which would be a throw-in for A on the OOB violation by B (2.10.1J). But a better solution would be to treat it as "erroneous information," kill it immediately, and go to the arrow (8.6.1). But either way in this case it sounds as if A will get the ball — only question is whether they give up the arrow to get it.
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything. |
|
|||
8.6.1 SITUATION:
A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw situation. The administering official steps in and erroneously informs players that two shots will be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed shot is rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; (b) A2, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; or (c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to secure the rebound. The officials recognize their error at this point. RULING: In (a) and (b), the official's error clearly put one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be whistled dead immediately and resumed using the alternating-possession procedure. In (c), both teams made an attempt to rebound despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue. (2-3) |
|
|||
Quote:
It is not a CE b/c no unmerited free throws were shot. And this situation is why we need to quit paying so much attention to the coaches. Any communication with the coach could have and should have waited until the calling official had completed and comfirmed all communication with his partner.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Mon Feb 11, 2013 at 02:27pm. |
|
|||
This is not a correctable error play. Officials provided erroneous information if only one team or the other reacts to the play it goes to AP. If both teams react you play on, if official stops play after both teams make play on the ball it is an inadvertent whistle, team with possession gets ball.
|
|
|||
Had a very similiar situation happen to myself earlier this year.
GV game, 24 seconds remaining in a 1 point game, H team leading. H1 gets fouled and goes to the line for 1 and 1. I step in, signal 1 and 1 (yes I checked the video to verify) bounce the ball and back out table side (3 person being used). The lanes are cleared except the two V players in the low blocks and H1 shooting. She shoots, misses and the ball hits the floor..bounces..bounces a few more times and no one moves. I take a couple steps towards the lane line to see what is going on and when I do V1 grabs the ball and tosses it to me. It caught me by such surprise that I caught it, in bounds and then out of shock dropped it. Then realizing what was going on picked it back up and whistled it dead, confered with my partners and we went AP to V team. It was embarrassing to say the least but no one complained about how we handled it. |
|
|||
Quote:
But what if all of the above were true, with the exception that the ball grazed a player and the clock properly started? I'd like to think I'd just let things roll until somebody figures out it's game on (if ever). |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Clarification on Appeal Play | matstars | Baseball | 4 | Fri Jun 06, 2008 06:57pm |
Some clarification of NCAA kick play | ljudge | Football | 2 | Wed Oct 25, 2006 09:06pm |
Question Re: ASA website June Clarification on Runner Interference Play | HawkeyeCubP | Softball | 5 | Thu Jul 06, 2006 03:34pm |
Need a little clarification | David B | Baseball | 22 | Mon Apr 26, 2004 10:05am |
Rule Clarification to a play we discussed | Self | Basketball | 51 | Fri Aug 09, 2002 07:22pm |