The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 10:56pm
SAJ SAJ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 183
Is the C pointing to the RA after the call? It appears so, but the defender wasn't even close to it.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 11:04pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
C's primary, incorrect call.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 11:36pm
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
first, i have player control foul.

second, in ncaam, lead has primary on all drives to the basket when contact occurs inside free throw line and lane lines. especially when contact is with a secondary defender, as was the case in this play. at this level, this was leads call all the way, c should have had his fist up.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 11:38pm
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
also, it is clear in the video that l was watching the secondary defender whereas c was not, which is why l got the call right and c didnt.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2013, 12:28am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
first, i have player control foul.

second, in ncaam, lead has primary on all drives to the basket when contact occurs inside free throw line and lane lines. especially when contact is with a secondary defender, as was the case in this play. at this level, this was leads call all the way, c should have had his fist up.
This may be true, however the contact looks like it is outside the lane. One foot barely in the lane. Still don't understand what the C was seeing.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2013, 02:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
This may be true, however the contact looks like it is outside the lane. One foot barely in the lane. Still don't understand what the C was seeing.
One foot in the lane counts for a 3 second violation. Why not this?
Center blew this one in several ways.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2013, 02:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
This may be true, however the contact looks like it is outside the lane. One foot barely in the lane. Still don't understand what the C was seeing.
One foot in the lane at the time of contact but he came from a position entirely in the lane.

Some say that a defender arriving at a play from the L's primary is the L's responsibility while a defender coming in with the drive would be the C's.

Additionally, you could have drawn a straight line from the C, through the offense and to the defender...not the best of angles (but not much better from the L either).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Jan 31, 2013 at 02:26am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2013, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
not the best of angles (but not much better from the L either).
L could have pinched the paint to get a better angle.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2013, 08:49am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Neither one had a fist. Duh
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2013, 08:41am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
first, i have player control foul.

second, in ncaam, lead has primary on all drives to the basket when contact occurs inside free throw line and lane lines. especially when contact is with a secondary defender, as was the case in this play. at this level, this was leads call all the way, c should have had his fist up.
I think the collision was high enough and far enough over (B1's right foot was outside the lane) that the C should have still been the primary. The Lead had another defender in his area. Also the C should have had a clear look at the defender sliding over because the primary defender abandoned the play.

I don't subscribe to all secondary defenders in the paint belonging to the Lead.

The C should have had a good enough look not to need help on the play. And I said earlier, it should have been a PC.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Fri Feb 01, 2013 at 09:50am.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2013, 11:01am
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
I don't prescribe to all secondary defenders in the paint belonging to the Lead.


it isnt relevent whether or not you subscribe to this philosophy. the philosophy as stated is how these plays are expected to be officiated at that level.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2013, 11:13am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
I don't prescribe to all secondary defenders in the paint belonging to the Lead.


it isnt relevent whether or not you subscribe to this philosophy. the philosophy as stated is how these plays are expected to be officiated at that level.
Well, I occasionally work that rule set and I'm not the only who doesn't prescribe to it. I have not had any supervisor tell me that the entire paint belongs to the Lead if a secondary defender appears. What if the Lead has post players and the ball-handler dribbles away from the Trail towards the C and has a crash with a SD just below the free throw line right in front of the C? You're telling me that belongs to the Lead?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2013, 11:42am
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
no, i am telling you that lead is the primary on secondary defenders in the lane, not that the c cannot have a call on these plays. both officials should have gone with fists before preliminary signal, but the center should know he is secondary on this type of play and should be aware of that before he goes right to block signal.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2013, 01:23pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Well, I occasionally work that rule set and I'm not the only who doesn't prescribe to it.
Of course you don't prescribe to it. Nobody prescribes to it.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2013, 03:57pm
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
first, i have player control foul.

second, in ncaam, lead has primary on all drives to the basket when contact occurs inside free throw line and lane lines. especially when contact is with a secondary defender, as was the case in this play. at this level, this was leads call all the way, c should have had his fist up.

See the now bold section of my original post. Seems pretty clear to me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Norfolk State v. Missouri Throw-In Play (10.0 Seconds Left) APG Basketball 17 Tue Mar 20, 2012 10:39am
Norfolk State vs Missouri -- throw-in spot after timeout Lotto Basketball 10 Sat Mar 17, 2012 02:08pm
K-State/West Virgina Almost Blarge MOofficial Basketball 36 Thu Dec 15, 2011 10:50am
BLARGE rears it's ugly head - Baylor vs K State DLH17 Basketball 9 Wed Mar 17, 2010 09:04am
Missouri 17-14 OT victory over Iowa State John Kuntemeier Football 3 Thu Dec 02, 2004 03:32pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1