The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Another blarge - Missouri State at Creighton (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93804-another-blarge-missouri-state-creighton.html)

zm1283 Wed Jan 30, 2013 09:21pm

Another blarge - Missouri State at Creighton
 
Blarge video - YouTube

Someone can embed it if they want.

Watch the Lead and Center. I think the Lead actually got it right. And the video doesn't show it, but no one notices the Lead's PC signal and they went with the block.

They also had an odd play happen later in the first half. Creighton's center was fouled right under the basket going up for a shot, but as he lifted his elbows up he caught a Missouri State player on the chin. They reviewed it for quite a while and got him for a Flagrant 1. They shot the two foul shots for the common foul and went to the other end for the F1 shots followed by a throw-in for Missouri State. Wish I would have gotten a video for that one too. It is on Fox Sports Midwest so I'm not sure if the video wizards can do that. It was between 1:10 and 2:00 in the first half I think.

jeschmit Wed Jan 30, 2013 09:40pm

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/ywJGZJQW6mo" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Why does the lead have a whistle on this? I feel that this is C's to live and die with... The lead should have probably been pinching the paint here as well, if not getting to the other side as well. I have a charge, fwiw.

JugglingReferee Wed Jan 30, 2013 09:53pm

From that video, I have PC.

OKREF Wed Jan 30, 2013 10:54pm

Two things. Isn't that the C's call since it originated in his primary? Second. That is a PC all the way.

SAJ Wed Jan 30, 2013 10:56pm

Is the C pointing to the RA after the call? It appears so, but the defender wasn't even close to it.

Raymond Wed Jan 30, 2013 11:04pm

C's primary, incorrect call.

johnny d Wed Jan 30, 2013 11:36pm

first, i have player control foul.

second, in ncaam, lead has primary on all drives to the basket when contact occurs inside free throw line and lane lines. especially when contact is with a secondary defender, as was the case in this play. at this level, this was leads call all the way, c should have had his fist up.

johnny d Wed Jan 30, 2013 11:38pm

also, it is clear in the video that l was watching the secondary defender whereas c was not, which is why l got the call right and c didnt.

OKREF Thu Jan 31, 2013 12:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 876021)
first, i have player control foul.

second, in ncaam, lead has primary on all drives to the basket when contact occurs inside free throw line and lane lines. especially when contact is with a secondary defender, as was the case in this play. at this level, this was leads call all the way, c should have had his fist up.

This may be true, however the contact looks like it is outside the lane. One foot barely in the lane. Still don't understand what the C was seeing.

Blindolbat Thu Jan 31, 2013 02:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 876030)
This may be true, however the contact looks like it is outside the lane. One foot barely in the lane. Still don't understand what the C was seeing.

One foot in the lane counts for a 3 second violation. Why not this?
Center blew this one in several ways.

Camron Rust Thu Jan 31, 2013 02:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 876030)
This may be true, however the contact looks like it is outside the lane. One foot barely in the lane. Still don't understand what the C was seeing.

One foot in the lane at the time of contact but he came from a position entirely in the lane.

Some say that a defender arriving at a play from the L's primary is the L's responsibility while a defender coming in with the drive would be the C's.

Additionally, you could have drawn a straight line from the C, through the offense and to the defender...not the best of angles (but not much better from the L either).

Camron Rust Thu Jan 31, 2013 02:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAJ (Post 876012)
Is the C pointing to the RA after the call? It appears so, but the defender wasn't even close to it.

No...he's pointing at the player who fouled.

maven Thu Jan 31, 2013 08:17am

How'd they handle the blarge?

Raymond Thu Jan 31, 2013 08:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 876021)
first, i have player control foul.

second, in ncaam, lead has primary on all drives to the basket when contact occurs inside free throw line and lane lines. especially when contact is with a secondary defender, as was the case in this play. at this level, this was leads call all the way, c should have had his fist up.

I think the collision was high enough and far enough over (B1's right foot was outside the lane) that the C should have still been the primary. The Lead had another defender in his area. Also the C should have had a clear look at the defender sliding over because the primary defender abandoned the play.

I don't subscribe to all secondary defenders in the paint belonging to the Lead.

The C should have had a good enough look not to need help on the play. And I said earlier, it should have been a PC.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 31, 2013 08:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 876035)
not the best of angles (but not much better from the L either).

L could have pinched the paint to get a better angle.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1