The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 01:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 162
Kentucky/Ole Miss Video Request

I'm thinking this was about 7:55 second half.

Jim Burr was the calling official.

Ole Miss gets a rebound and my initial reaction was that's a foul on the Kentucky player going underneath the Ole Miss player on the rebound. As that happens the Ole Miss player falls to the ground with clear possession of the ball all the way down, so now I'm thinking travel. Well that's what I get for thinking as neither was called. So I rewind it and upon further review when the Ole Miss player fell to the floor he was half way out of bounds and you guessed it, no call.

Play on boys we're going the other way. 2 wrongs don't make a right so what about 3 wrongs?

I just started scratching my head then flipped back over to US Of Bacon.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 02:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOofficial View Post
I'm thinking this was about 7:55 second half.

Jim Burr was the calling official.

Ole Miss gets a rebound and my initial reaction was that's a foul on the Kentucky player going underneath the Ole Miss player on the rebound. As that happens the Ole Miss player falls to the ground with clear possession of the ball all the way down, so now I'm thinking travel. Well that's what I get for thinking as neither was called. So I rewind it and upon further review when the Ole Miss player fell to the floor he was half way out of bounds and you guessed it, no call.

Play on boys we're going the other way. 2 wrongs don't make a right so what about 3 wrongs?

I just started scratching my head then flipped back over to US Of Bacon.
I saw that....at a minimum two calls were missed (the travel and the OOB). Even if he judged the player wasn't holding the ball when he fell (he was holding it) there is no reason to ignore a guy clearly laying such that a good part of his arm and shoulder were OOB.

If he wanted to not call a foul and let a little bit go, I can see that. But things that obvious, you really can't ignore those...you must take a step back and get the foul if the foul causes that.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 02:14pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 12,672
In NCAA an airborne player can fall to the ground and it is not travelling. I believe there is a subtle difference in how the travelling rules are written between NFHS and NCAA that accounts for this. I'll have to look it up later if someone else doesn't beat me to it.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 02:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
In NCAA an airborne player can fall to the ground and it is not travelling. I believe there is a subtle difference in how the travelling rules are written between NFHS and NCAA that accounts for this. I'll have to look it up later if someone else doesn't beat me to it.
4-72-6
It is traveling when a player falls to the playing court while holding the ball without maintaining a pivot foot.

I know in the NBA you are allowed to fall to the court but I'd never heard that for NCAA
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 02:44pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 12,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOofficial View Post
4-72-6
It is traveling when a player falls to the playing court while holding the ball without maintaining a pivot foot.
...
An airborne player has not yet established a pivot foot, so there is no pivot foot to maintain.

In fact, by rule, I don't see why it is travelling in the NFHS. But when doing HS I call it a travel and when doing college rule set I no-call it.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Wed Jan 30, 2013 at 02:51pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 02:46pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,762
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
In NCAA an airborne player can fall to the ground and it is not travelling. I believe there is a subtle difference in how the travelling rules are written between NFHS and NCAA that accounts for this. I'll have to look it up later if someone else doesn't beat me to it.
I believe that only applies to an airborne player who falls directly to the floor without landing on their feet first. If they land awkwardly on their feet (foot) and then go to the ground, it should be a travel.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 02:53pm
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Two plays from this game:

First play and one I was going to post myself:



Illegal screen or pushing foul for going through the screener?

Second play and the one the OP asked for:

__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 02:57pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 12,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
I believe that only applies to an airborne player who falls directly to the floor without landing on their feet first. If they land awkwardly on their feet (foot) and then go to the ground, it should be a travel.
Agreed. But in HS we call a travel even if the feet don't hit the ground, correct?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 02:59pm
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
Play 1: I like the pushing foul on the defender.

Play 2: Wow. Hard to tell about the foul from the angle, but not hard to tell about the travel or OOB. And where the heck was the L going?
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 03:01pm
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Agreed. But in HS we call a travel even if the feet don't hit the ground, correct?
NFHS 4-44-5: "A player holding the ball:
a. May not touch the floor with a knee or any other part of the body other than
hand or foot."
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 03:01pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,726
Play 1--illegal screen to me.

Play 2--I would go with a foul on blue, and if no foul, definately travel or out of bounds. Has to be something on this.

Last edited by OKREF; Wed Jan 30, 2013 at 03:37pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 03:08pm
Eschew obfuscation.
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 304
Play 1 - I would've liked to have seen an illegal screen called here, but I can understand why the T would only be able to see the push. The L had no one between him and this play, and he needs to see and call the illegal screen. The bucket definitely counts with what was called though.

Play 2 - He was definitely pushed, and it caused him to go to the ground. If a foul isn't called here, the travel or OOB should have been. I can see getting away without calling a travel if the official passed on the foul, but the OOB is too obvious...
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 03:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
Play 1--illegal screen to me.

Play 2--I might go with a foul on blue, and if no foul, definately travel or out of bounds. Has to be something on this.
Agree on both counts.
__________________
I'm due to make a great call. After all, I've been officiating a long time !!!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 03:14pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 12,672
Play #1: Either an illegal screen or it was a pushing foul on B1 PRIOR to A2 starting his habitual shooting motion.

Play #2: Can't tell if there is a push, but there is definitely a travel and an OOB violation.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 03:20pm
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeschmit View Post
Play 1 - I would've liked to have seen an illegal screen called here, but I can understand why the T would only be able to see the push. The L had no one between him and this play, and he needs to see and call the illegal screen. The bucket definitely counts with what was called though.
I was also going to bring this up...I also think the lead needs to get this play. Not sure what he was concentrating on.

On play two, I have an undercut by the defender.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How not to miss a timeout request Lotto Basketball 36 Sun Jan 20, 2013 09:32am
video request for APG SCalScoreKeeper Basketball 1 Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:00am
APG Video Request stiffler3492 Basketball 57 Thu Dec 01, 2011 06:07pm
Baseline Violation Kentucky-Ole Miss Game LeeBallanfant Basketball 7 Wed Feb 02, 2011 03:40pm
Kentucky/Miss. St. whistleone Basketball 27 Fri Jan 16, 2004 03:31pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1