![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
In NCAA an airborne player can fall to the ground and it is not travelling. I believe there is a subtle difference in how the travelling rules are written between NFHS and NCAA that accounts for this. I'll have to look it up later if someone else doesn't beat me to it.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
It is traveling when a player falls to the playing court while holding the ball without maintaining a pivot foot. I know in the NBA you are allowed to fall to the court but I'd never heard that for NCAA |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In fact, by rule, I don't see why it is travelling in the NFHS. But when doing HS I call it a travel and when doing college rule set I no-call it.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Wed Jan 30, 2013 at 02:51pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Two plays from this game:
First play and one I was going to post myself: Illegal screen or pushing foul for going through the screener? Second play and the one the OP asked for:
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
Play 1: I like the pushing foul on the defender.
Play 2: Wow. Hard to tell about the foul from the angle, but not hard to tell about the travel or OOB. And where the heck was the L going?
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything. |
|
|||
|
Play 1 - I would've liked to have seen an illegal screen called here, but I can understand why the T would only be able to see the push. The L had no one between him and this play, and he needs to see and call the illegal screen. The bucket definitely counts with what was called though.
Play 2 - He was definitely pushed, and it caused him to go to the ground. If a foul isn't called here, the travel or OOB should have been. I can see getting away without calling a travel if the official passed on the foul, but the OOB is too obvious... |
|
|||
|
Quote:
On play two, I have an undercut by the defender.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
Agree on both counts.
__________________
I'm due to make a great call. After all, I've been officiating a long time !!! |
|
|||
|
Play #1: Either an illegal screen or it was a pushing foul on B1 PRIOR to A2 starting his habitual shooting motion.
Play #2: Can't tell if there is a push, but there is definitely a travel and an OOB violation.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Agreed. But in HS we call a travel even if the feet don't hit the ground, correct?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
a. May not touch the floor with a knee or any other part of the body other than hand or foot."
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| How not to miss a timeout request | Lotto | Basketball | 36 | Sun Jan 20, 2013 09:32am |
| video request for APG | SCalScoreKeeper | Basketball | 1 | Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:00am |
| APG Video Request | stiffler3492 | Basketball | 57 | Thu Dec 01, 2011 06:07pm |
| Baseline Violation Kentucky-Ole Miss Game | LeeBallanfant | Basketball | 7 | Wed Feb 02, 2011 03:40pm |
| Kentucky/Miss. St. | whistleone | Basketball | 27 | Fri Jan 16, 2004 03:31pm |