The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2013, 02:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 25
Correct or incorrect. If incorrect is this correctable?

Situation:A1 is shooting the 2nd of two free thr.ows. As a1 receives the balls for the free throw the administering official sees b1s foot across the line separating the marked lane space nearest the free thrower. The official gives the delayed singal as a1 releases the ball. A1s 2nd attempt does not hit the rim and the official gives a1 another attempt at the 2nd free throw.A1 hits the 2nd free throw and play continues with throw in by team B Was the official correct.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2013, 02:33am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
This is not correct. The failure of the shooter to hit the rim is also a violation. It should have been an AP situation.

No, this is not correctable, as apparently the free throw violation by the shooter was not recognized/called.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove

Last edited by just another ref; Fri Jan 25, 2013 at 02:35am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2013, 02:35am
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by rawhi1 View Post
Situation:A1 is shooting the 2nd of two free thr.ows. As a1 receives the balls for the free throw the administering official sees b1s foot across the line separating the marked lane space nearest the free thrower. The official gives the delayed singal as a1 releases the ball. A1s 2nd attempt does not hit the rim and the official gives a1 another attempt at the 2nd free throw.A1 hits the 2nd free throw and play continues with throw in by team B Was the official correct.
In this case, if the airball was recognized as a violation, it is a double violation and would be followed by another FT if there is to be one or AP arrow. The penalty is the same as simultaneous violation because it was on the defense and the shooter.

Last edited by Sharpshooternes; Fri Jan 25, 2013 at 02:38am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2013, 07:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 25
Rulebook reference

Thanks for the info. Can someone please add a rulebook reference and case book situation play if one exist.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2013, 07:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Detroit Metro
Posts: 509
Rule: 6.4.3.c


6.4.3 SITUATION A:

B1, in a marked lane space, enters the lane prematurely. The administering official properly signals the violation and A1 attempts the free throw. However, A1's attempt does not enter the basket or touch the ring.

RULING: The violations by B1 and A1 constitute a simultaneous free-throw violation. Unless another free throw follows, play resumes with an alternating-possession throw-in from a designated spot outside the end line.

Last edited by dsqrddgd909; Fri Jan 25, 2013 at 07:25am.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2013, 07:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
I'm not convinced that this is the same as missing a travel.

If the officials saw the ball fail to contact the ring, but incorrectly thought that only the first violation should be penalized, then a rule has been set aside with the result being the awarding of an unmerited FT.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2013, 09:18am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
I'm not convinced that this is the same as missing a travel.

If the officials saw the ball fail to contact the ring, but incorrectly thought that only the first violation should be penalized, then a rule has been set aside with the result being the awarding of an unmerited FT.

Interesting theory. (And as conspiracy theories go I like it, .) But it is worth exploring.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2013, 09:58am
Tio Tio is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 463
This is the dreaded double-violation and the correct procedure is to go to the AP arrow.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Incorrect travel tref Basketball 79 Thu Mar 01, 2012 11:40am
Politically incorrect? Mark Padgett Basketball 28 Mon Mar 29, 2010 07:14pm
Incorrect Enforcement? bossman72 Football 11 Fri Nov 27, 2009 08:49pm
incorrect server cards2323 Volleyball 5 Thu Sep 23, 2004 10:38am
incorrect # of freethrows RoyalsCoach Basketball 3 Thu Jan 23, 2003 05:38am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1