![]() |
|
|||
Team control foul clarification
Please clarify whether team control (and therefore TC fouls) end with a try (shot). We had an overtime foul today (we were well into the bonus by then) on a common rebounding foul committed by a member of the (opposing) team whose player had just taken the shot. Team control? Btw, if it matters, the player fouled had the ball in hand when the foul was committed but was still in the air: I know it's not in the book, but imagine an over-the-back
![]() |
|
|||
When a try is in flight, there is no team control. If there is a foul by either team on the rebound, a team that is in the bonus should shoot.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
4-12-2:
A team is in control of the ball: a. When a player of the team is in control. b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates. c. During an interrupted dribble. 4-12-3: Team control continues until: a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal. b. An opponent secures control. c. The ball becomes dead.
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything. |
|
|||
Thanks, that was my belief but the young ref working the game said team control, no bonus. I found it particularly interesting since his partner (who called the foul in the first place) had taken care to point to the would-be free throw shooter. It's Rec, and, since I'm coaching 12-yr-olds, I didn't want to force a confrontation either between me & the refs or between the 2 of them, but he explained it as a team control foul after the game & left me wondering whether I'd missed something.
|
|
|||
Quote:
OK, just re-read the OP and it sounds like B had rebounded the ball and was fouled while coming down with the rebound. If this is correct, you should have been shooting bonus FT's. Your player rebounded the ball and was fouled by the other team. Your team, the team in contol, did not commit the fould so how could it be team control???
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs. Last edited by Mregor; Sun Jan 13, 2013 at 12:24am. Reason: I just re-read the OP and I'm now confused |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Yep, I originally saw it as the shooter had the ball in his hand when the foul ocurred off ball. My bad.
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs. |
|
|||
Thanks for your reply, Mregor. I added the part about rebounder having the ball in her hands because I thought there was a small chance that there was a kind of continuum thing involved - if the ball is in flight toward the basket then X, ball has hit the rim but not touched a player then Y, etc - while thinking that was even more unlikely than the idea that there could still be team control once a shot has been released (because the rule was changed to make control easier to interpret/apply, not harder as the continuum notion would). Maven's excerpt makes things crystal clear and I wouldn't have had to ask at all if I could've read my downloaded rules (computers!). More to your point about how could there be any doubt about control once the rebound was in player's hands: in trying to give the benefit of the doubt, I was thinking there was room for disagreement on exactly when the foul occurred - it may have started when the ball was between rim & hands & ended when the ball was in hands.
The whole scenario raises an interesting idea about the exact moment both of a foul & the exact moment a shot is released (without replay, red lights, orange squares that light up, etc) - players trying to position for a rebound while another is shooting - & how difficult it is to see 2 things at once. I saw a high school game Friday night in which a double foul off the ball was called at essentially the same instant that a (3-point) shot was released & then went in the basket: after considerable consternation & discussion between the refs, coaches & refs, it was no basket but there was simply no way the ref who called the double foul could have seen the shot & no way his partner knew exactly when the foul occurred relative to the 3-point shot since he was looking at the shooter's feet. I couldn't tell you whether I heard the whistle after the ball had left shooter's fingertips or before and I was watching shooter closely (looking at shooting form cause good shooter was having a miserable shooting night). So: interesting. Btw, possession stayed with shooting team but I think that was on alternating held-ball arrow which seems wrong for double foul (?) |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Team Control Foul and Player Control | The_Rookie | Basketball | 19 | Mon Oct 29, 2012 05:03pm |
Player Control or Team Control Foul | The_Rookie | Basketball | 1 | Sun Jan 16, 2011 04:19pm |
Player control vs Team control foul | QuebecRef87 | Basketball | 6 | Wed Jan 26, 2005 07:42am |
Player Control Foul Clarification | Smitty | Basketball | 2 | Mon Nov 08, 2004 04:19pm |
New NCAA "team control" clarification | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 2 | Mon Aug 25, 2003 06:44am |