The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 12, 2013, 02:53pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Treeguy View Post
I am corrected again.
That's what we're here for.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 12, 2013, 04:40pm
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
That's what we're here for.
What if they make the First FT, thus no lane violation? Do you assess the technical foul after the second attempt? Or do you bounce the ball to the player, then whistle a violation. The FT shooter will shoot thier second FT with the lanes cleared, then 2 tech FTs and then ball at mid court?
Or what if they are in the lanes for the first after a timeout but then decide to huddle for the second outside the 3-point line?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 12, 2013, 04:57pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
What if they make the First FT, thus no lane violation? Do you assess the technical foul after the second attempt? Or do you bounce the ball to the player, then whistle a violation. The FT shooter will shoot thier second FT with the lanes cleared, then 2 tech FTs and then ball at mid court?
Or what if they are in the lanes for the first after a timeout but then decide to huddle for the second outside the 3-point line?
If I understand it correctly, (it happens sometimes) the RPP covers only the first free throw after a timeout. Obviously, if this free throw is successful, no further attempt of that free throw is necessary. Any other time, including the second free throw of this sequence, two players are ordered to occupy the spots, and if they don't, you assess the T.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 12, 2013, 05:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If I understand it correctly, (it happens sometimes) the RPP covers only the first free throw after a timeout. Obviously, if this free throw is successful, no further attempt of that free throw is necessary. Any other time, including the second free throw of this sequence, two players are ordered to occupy the spots, and if they don't, you assess the T.
Almost correct ... If the first FT is successful, you repeat the procedure. If either FT is unsuccessful, the shooter gets a substitute throw and then "B" must occupy their lane spaces or be assessed a tech.


9.1.2 SITUATION A:

Following a time-out by Team B, A1 is given the ball for the first of two free throws even though Team B is still huddling at the bench and the first marked spaces on each side of the lane are not occupied. In this case, the lead official uses the resumption-of-play procedure even though the first spaces are not occupied, whereas in other cases, the spaces would have to be properly occupied before the official would proceed with the free throw administration. A1's first attempt is successful. The lead official then bounces the ball to A1 for the second attempt. Team B is still at the sideline. The official again gives the signal which indicates a violation by Team B if the attempt is missed. A1 misses the second free-throw attempt.

RULING: The violation will result in A1 being given a substitute attempt. Team B will be assessed a technical foul if they delay further by not *occupying the first marked spaces on each side of the lane before the ball becomes live for the substitute throw. (4-38; 8-1-2; 10-1-5b)
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 13, 2013, 02:11am
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
Almost correct ... If the first FT is successful, you repeat the procedure. If either FT is unsuccessful, the shooter gets a substitute throw and then "B" must occupy their lane spaces or be assessed a tech.


9.1.2 SITUATION A:

Following a time-out by Team B, A1 is given the ball for the first of two free throws even though Team B is still huddling at the bench and the first marked spaces on each side of the lane are not occupied. In this case, the lead official uses the resumption-of-play procedure even though the first spaces are not occupied, whereas in other cases, the spaces would have to be properly occupied before the official would proceed with the free throw administration. A1's first attempt is successful. The lead official then bounces the ball to A1 for the second attempt. Team B is still at the sideline. The official again gives the signal which indicates a violation by Team B if the attempt is missed. A1 misses the second free-throw attempt.

RULING: The violation will result in A1 being given a substitute attempt. Team B will be assessed a technical foul if they delay further by not *occupying the first marked spaces on each side of the lane before the ball becomes live for the substitute throw. (4-38; 8-1-2; 10-1-5b)
We are referring to if there is only to be one FT after a timeout and they don't have the low 2 blocks filled. If it is made, away we go. If it is missed they get a substitute and are ordered to fill the spaces. If they don't it is a T.

Again, I ask, how do you administer this? On the substitute or second FT, do you bounce the ball to the thrower and then immediatly whistle it dead? Thower shoots thier FT with the lane cleared and then 2 more by any player on the same team?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 13, 2013, 03:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
We are referring to if there is only to be one FT after a timeout and they don't have the low 2 blocks filled. If it is made, away we go. If it is missed they get a substitute and are ordered to fill the spaces. If they don't it is a T.

Again, I ask, how do you administer this? On the substitute or second FT, do you bounce the ball to the thrower and then immediatly whistle it dead? Thower shoots thier FT with the lane cleared and then 2 more by any player on the same team?
No. When you are ready to administer the replacement shot and the defense is NOT occupying the spot, it is a T right then. No need to bounce it to the shooter.

(Edited to add the missing NOT)
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Sun Jan 13, 2013 at 02:51pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 13, 2013, 07:06am
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
No. When you are ready to administer the replacement shot and the defense is occupying the spot, it is a T right then. No need to bounce it to the shooter.
You meant NOT occupying the spot, right?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 13, 2013, 10:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
Almost correct ... If the first FT is successful, you repeat the procedure. If either FT is unsuccessful, the shooter gets a substitute throw and then "B" must occupy their lane spaces or be assessed a tech.


9.1.2 SITUATION A:

Following a time-out by Team B, A1 is given the ball for the first of two free throws even though Team B is still huddling at the bench and the first marked spaces on each side of the lane are not occupied. In this case, the lead official uses the resumption-of-play procedure even though the first spaces are not occupied, whereas in other cases, the spaces would have to be properly occupied before the official would proceed with the free throw administration. A1's first attempt is successful. The lead official then bounces the ball to A1 for the second attempt. Team B is still at the sideline. The official again gives the signal which indicates a violation by Team B if the attempt is missed. A1 misses the second free-throw attempt.

RULING: The violation will result in A1 being given a substitute attempt. Team B will be assessed a technical foul if they delay further by not *occupying the first marked spaces on each side of the lane before the ball becomes live for the substitute throw. (4-38; 8-1-2; 10-1-5b)
Seems like the real penalty "should" be an intentional miss by the shooter followed by rebound & layup for 2 points instead of one while Team B is discussing dinner plans or foreign policy. I suspect that's why you might see a coach try not having players on the low block spaces for a first of 2 but not for a 2nd of 2.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Warning for B/S Durham Baseball 8 Fri Mar 04, 2011 01:48pm
DOG warning help Jburt Basketball 10 Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:20pm
No Warning given TrojanHorse Basketball 17 Wed Mar 04, 2009 05:30am
WARNING!!! WARNING!! Annual off-topic baseball thread!! ChuckElias Basketball 583 Sat Jan 21, 2006 05:28pm
warning or tee camster Basketball 7 Mon Nov 18, 2002 12:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1