The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2013, 07:31am
Go Blue
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 84
I had the same situation, team was on the other side of the dividing line. I was administrating the FT, yelled over there a couple times and was ignored. I administered the FT and called a lane violation. That got the coaches attention. He did not know the rule and started arguing the point that if he did not want anyone in the lane, he did not have to. He would not believe us.

I say administer the FT, lane violation first, T after that.
__________________
"Well, what part of SUDDEN DEATH didn't you understand?" Feng Balls of Fury
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2013, 08:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Treeguy View Post
I had the same situation, team was on the other side of the dividing line. I was administrating the FT, yelled over there a couple times and was ignored. I administered the FT and called a lane violation. That got the coaches attention. He did not know the rule and started arguing the point that if he did not want anyone in the lane, he did not have to. He would not believe us.

I say administer the FT, lane violation first, T after that.
You would be incorrect ...


10.1.5 SITUATION C:

The ruling official has reported the foul and *proceeds to his/her proper position for the first of two free throws awarded to A1. B1 and B2 are: (a) huddling in the lane; or (b) two B players are not occupying the first two marked spaces next to the end line as required.
RULING: In (a), if the huddle delays the officials' administration, Team B is warned. The *warning is recorded by the scorer and reported to the head coach. If Team B had been previously warned for delay, a technical foul shall be charged. In (b), Team B will be directed to occupy the required spaces. If there is delay, a team technical foul shall be charged to Team B. (4-47)
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 12, 2013, 01:50pm
Go Blue
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
You would be incorrect ...


10.1.5 SITUATION C:

The ruling official has reported the foul and *proceeds to his/her proper position for the first of two free throws awarded to A1. B1 and B2 are: (a) huddling in the lane; or (b) two B players are not occupying the first two marked spaces next to the end line as required.
RULING: In (a), if the huddle delays the officials' administration, Team B is warned. The *warning is recorded by the scorer and reported to the head coach. If Team B had been previously warned for delay, a technical foul shall be charged. In (b), Team B will be directed to occupy the required spaces. If there is delay, a team technical foul shall be charged to Team B. (4-47)
Actually, I think I was correct.

9.1.2 Situation A Talks about Team B huddling by the bench and the first two lanes are unoccupied.

RULING: The violation will result in A1 being given a substitute attempt. Team B will be assessed a technical foul if they delay further by not occupying the first marked spaces on each side of the lane before the ball becomes live for the substitute throw.
__________________
"Well, what part of SUDDEN DEATH didn't you understand?" Feng Balls of Fury
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 12, 2013, 01:53pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Treeguy View Post
Actually, I think I was correct.

9.1.2 Situation A Talks about Team B huddling by the bench and the first two lanes are unoccupied.

RULING: The violation will result in A1 being given a substitute attempt. Team B will be assessed a technical foul if they delay further by not occupying the first marked spaces on each side of the lane before the ball becomes live for the substitute throw.
You were incorrect. 9.1.2 Situation A only applies after a timeout.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 12, 2013, 01:57pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Treeguy View Post
Actually, I think I was correct.

9.1.2 Situation A Talks about Team B huddling by the bench and the first two lanes are unoccupied.

RULING: The violation will result in A1 being given a substitute attempt. Team B will be assessed a technical foul if they delay further by not occupying the first marked spaces on each side of the lane before the ball becomes live for the substitute throw.

The difference, as already stated by Adam above, is that this is after a timeout. In the OP, there was no timeout.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 12, 2013, 02:19pm
Go Blue
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 84
I am corrected again.
__________________
"Well, what part of SUDDEN DEATH didn't you understand?" Feng Balls of Fury
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 12, 2013, 02:53pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Treeguy View Post
I am corrected again.
That's what we're here for.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 12, 2013, 04:40pm
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
That's what we're here for.
What if they make the First FT, thus no lane violation? Do you assess the technical foul after the second attempt? Or do you bounce the ball to the player, then whistle a violation. The FT shooter will shoot thier second FT with the lanes cleared, then 2 tech FTs and then ball at mid court?
Or what if they are in the lanes for the first after a timeout but then decide to huddle for the second outside the 3-point line?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2013, 08:23am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Treeguy View Post
I had the same situation, team was on the other side of the dividing line. I was administrating the FT, yelled over there a couple times and was ignored. I administered the FT and called a lane violation. That got the coaches attention. He did not know the rule and started arguing the point that if he did not want anyone in the lane, he did not have to. He would not believe us.

I say administer the FT, lane violation first, T after that.
You may say it, but the book says you're only right if you're coming out of a timeout.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2013, 09:39am
Go Blue
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 84
Thanks for the correction, this only happen once to me.
__________________
"Well, what part of SUDDEN DEATH didn't you understand?" Feng Balls of Fury
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2013, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 529
It's odd that the actual rule (8-1-4c) states only that the first marked lane spaces SHALL be occupied by opponents of the free thrower.

I was beginning to think this was a myth perpetuated by absolutely everyone in our fraternity (including yours truly) until I read the case play you guys referenced (thanks). Only there does it say MUST.

Poorly worded rule, but very helpful discussion. Shall definitely contrasts with the "may" of 8-1-4d & e, but it's not as clear/resolute as "must" or "are required to."
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2013, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODog View Post
It's odd that the actual rule (8-1-4c) states only that the first marked lane spaces SHALL be occupied by opponents of the free thrower.

I was beginning to think this was a myth perpetuated by absolutely everyone in our fraternity (including yours truly) until I read the case play you guys referenced (thanks). Only there does it say MUST.

Poorly worded rule, but very helpful discussion. Shall definitely contrasts with the "may" of 8-1-4d & e, but it's not as clear/resolute as "must" or "are required to."
Not it isn't. Shall means exactly that....it is a synonym of must.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Warning for B/S Durham Baseball 8 Fri Mar 04, 2011 01:48pm
DOG warning help Jburt Basketball 10 Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:20pm
No Warning given TrojanHorse Basketball 17 Wed Mar 04, 2009 05:30am
WARNING!!! WARNING!! Annual off-topic baseball thread!! ChuckElias Basketball 583 Sat Jan 21, 2006 05:28pm
warning or tee camster Basketball 7 Mon Nov 18, 2002 12:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1