The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2013, 12:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Earth- For Now
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
Different scenario but...I will tell the coach that player has to have the blood situation taken care of by the end of the time out or he/she needs to be subbed out.

And you're right, there are two separate rules governing these situations. Both say the player must leave but one allows the player to return without medical evaluation.

Back to the situation in the OP: A1 is removed for the concussion situation. B1 is allowed to stay in the game. The coach of Team A says "Hey, B1 was supposed to go out too because he was bleeding/had blood on him." The response would be...?
The response would be, "Coach we stopped play when A1 displayed signs of a concussion. The blood situation with B1 was discovered during this stoppage and taken care of before we were ready to resume play." The stoppage in play was because A1 was injured and had nothing to do with B1.

And I don't see what's different about my scenario and the OP. The title of the thread is "blood discovered DURING a TO." If play is already stopped for an issued TO or an injury TO and during that TO blood is discovered on another player then that player would be eligible to remain in the game provided the blood situation was corrected prior to when we were ready to resume play.

That's what I'm doing in my games until one of my assignors directs otherwise.

Last edited by VaTerp; Fri Jan 11, 2013 at 12:53am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2013, 10:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by VaTerp View Post
The response would be, "Coach we stopped play when A1 displayed signs of a concussion. The blood situation with B1 was discovered during this stoppage and taken care of before we were ready to resume play." The stoppage in play was because A1 was injured and had nothing to do with B1.

And I don't see what's different about my scenario and the OP. The title of the thread is "blood discovered DURING a TO." If play is already stopped for an issued TO or an injury TO and during that TO blood is discovered on another player then that player would be eligible to remain in the game provided the blood situation was corrected prior to when we were ready to resume play.

That's what I'm doing in my games until one of my assignors directs otherwise.
No offfense to Scooby but the title of the OP should be "Blood discovered during a dead ball" or "Blood discovered while another player is injured." There's no time out in play in the OP. There's also nothing in the NFHS rule book that allows a player to remain in the game if a blood situation is corrected within a certain time frame unless that player's team calls time out.

There are also case plays in which A1 and B1 are injured and their respective coaches - after being beckoned - want to keep them in the game. The rules require that each coach uses a time out to do so. The situation in the OP is only slightly different in that A1's return isn't subject to the time out parameter.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2013, 11:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Earth- For Now
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
No offfense to Scooby but the title of the OP should be "Blood discovered during a dead ball" or "Blood discovered while another player is injured." There's no time out in play in the OP. There's also nothing in the NFHS rule book that allows a player to remain in the game if a blood situation is corrected within a certain time frame unless that player's team calls time out.

There are also case plays in which A1 and B1 are injured and their respective coaches - after being beckoned - want to keep them in the game. The rules require that each coach uses a time out to do so. The situation in the OP is only slightly different in that A1's return isn't subject to the time out parameter.
There is no charged timeout but we essentially have an "injury timeout" and stoppage in play.

The rule says the player shall be directed to leave the game. In the OP's situation the player was directed to leave the game. It just so happened that it was during a stoppage of play for another situation. I see nothing in the rules that mandates B1 must remain out of the game if the blood situation has been corrected before play is ready to resume.

The case plays you reference are not relevant because play was stopped and coaches were beckoned FOR those injured players. In the OP situation play was not stopped FOR B1.

I think it's as simple as applying common sense to the rule. Again, what purpose is served by forcing the player to remain out of the game if the blood situation has been remedied before play, which has been stopped for another reason, is set to resume?

IMO you have a way too narrow interpretation of the rule that defies common sense. But we can just agree to disagree.

Last edited by VaTerp; Fri Jan 11, 2013 at 11:20am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2013, 11:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by VaTerp View Post
The rule says the player shall be directed to leave the game.
Once a player is directed to leave (and the coach hasn't taken a TO), they can't return until the clock has run.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2013, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Earth- For Now
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Once a player is directed to leave (and the coach hasn't taken a TO), they can't return until the clock has run.
I still argue that if the player is "directed to leave" for blood during an extended stoppage in play for another reason then that player can "return" provided the situation has been remedied by the time play resumes.

Is that exception explicitly spelled out in the rules book? No. But again every single variable of every situation does not have specific language or a case book play to address it. Sometimes we have to use common sense and apply the rule intelligently to a given situation.

IMO this is one of those instances. Not everyone agrees with me and that's fine. This is what I have done and will continue to do until directed otherwise.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2013, 01:13pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
I'm looking at it this way. If a stoppage of any kind is already in progress, there is no "game" for the player to leave. I see a kid standing in the huddle with blood on his arm. Before I can say anything, the trainer wipes off the blood and applies a bandage. By the time the "game" resumes, he's ready to go.

Isn't a timeout a part of the game? Maybe so, but even if it is, the player doesn't have to leave it.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2013, 01:37pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
I'm looking at it this way. If a stoppage of any kind is already in progress, there is no "game" for the player to leave. I see a kid standing in the huddle with blood on his arm. Before I can say anything, the trainer wipes off the blood and applies a bandage. By the time the "game" resumes, he's ready to go.

Isn't a timeout a part of the game? Maybe so, but even if it is, the player doesn't have to leave it.
I agree with this take.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2013, 02:15pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
I'm looking at it this way. If a stoppage of any kind is already in progress, there is no "game" for the player to leave. I see a kid standing in the huddle with blood on his arm. Before I can say anything, the trainer wipes off the blood and applies a bandage. By the time the "game" resumes, he's ready to go.

Isn't a timeout a part of the game? Maybe so, but even if it is, the player doesn't have to leave it.
I think all of us would probably handle your situation this way. But your situation is different than the OP and VaTerp's point...in both of those the player was directed to leave the game. The rules on that player coming back in are clear - wait for time to run or call a timeout. VaTerp is going to handle it his own way, which is fine for him, but he has no basis within the rules to do it that way and is contradicting what the rules say.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2013, 03:30pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Sounds Good ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Once a player is directed to leave (and the coach hasn't taken a TO), they can't return until the clock has run.
Sit a tick?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 13, 2013, 12:36am
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by VaTerp View Post
The response would be, "Coach we stopped play when A1 displayed signs of a concussion. The blood situation with B1 was discovered during this stoppage and taken care of before we were ready to resume play." The stoppage in play was because A1 was injured and had nothing to do with B1.

And I don't see what's different about my scenario and the OP. The title of the thread is "blood discovered DURING a TO." If play is already stopped for an issued TO or an injury TO and during that TO blood is discovered on another player then that player would be eligible to remain in the game provided the blood situation was corrected prior to when we were ready to resume play.

That's what I'm doing in my games until one of my assignors directs otherwise.
During a TO all personal are considered bench personnel anyway right? I don't think they need to use a TO to stay in the game in this case.

Last edited by Sharpshooternes; Sun Jan 13, 2013 at 12:41am.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 13, 2013, 06:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
During a TO all personal are considered bench personnel anyway right? I don't think they need to use a TO to stay in the game in this case.

4.34.1 SITUATION:

Team A requests a time-out; at the conclusion of the time-out as the teams are returning to the court, A1 curses at the game officials.

RULING: A1 is assessed a technical foul. The foul will count as one of A1's fouls toward disqualification and toward the team foul count.

COMMENT: During a time-out, A1 is considered a player and not bench personnel.


They are only BP during intermission.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 13, 2013, 07:04am
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
4.34.1 SITUATION:

Team A requests a time-out; at the conclusion of the time-out as the teams are returning to the court, A1 curses at the game officials.

RULING: A1 is assessed a technical foul. The foul will count as one of A1's fouls toward disqualification and toward the team foul count.

COMMENT: During a time-out, A1 is considered a player and not bench personnel.


They are only BP during intermission.
Yep.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 13, 2013, 01:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
If player A has blood on their uniform would they be able to switch into a new uniform with a new number? I saw it in the Illinois game the other night so I figure it is OK for the NCAA but what about high school?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 13, 2013, 01:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,282
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulH View Post
If player A has blood on their uniform would they be able to switch into a new uniform with a new number? I saw it in the Illinois game the other night so I figure it is OK for the NCAA but what about high school?
Yes and penalty free.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 13, 2013, 01:43pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
New Number ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
Yes and penalty free.
After the scorer, and an official, are properly notified. I'm surprised that the NFHS doesn't require notification to the other team. It must be pretty difficult to guard against number 24's great three point shot from the left side, as you were coached during the halftime intermission, when number 24 is actually number 15?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Jan 13, 2013 at 01:47pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6 players in game "discovered while being violated" CallMeMrRef Basketball 8 Sun Feb 26, 2012 11:58am
Post game scorebook error discovered HoopsRefJunior Basketball 10 Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:53pm
Blood WhistlesAndStripes Football 5 Sun Oct 02, 2005 12:08am
Blood, blood, ref, she's bleeding! rainmaker Basketball 27 Wed Jan 01, 2003 12:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1