![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Sincerely, The guy who would have received the letter
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
So the defense would have to wait until they were sure the ball had broken the plane before reaching for it? How can they judge that (successfully)? Suppose the pass is not to an out of bounds teammate, but a cross court pass to an inbounds player in opposite corner? You are going to expect a defender, with his team down by one, not to reach for that ball? I'm not talking about the onball defender, but probably a secondary defender in a press setup somewhere closer to receiver. There would be a point somewhere in that pass that the ball crosses the plane, but probably hard for a player to know in heat of battle. If there is no out of bounds receiver on this play, we all would assume that at any point after release of ball the defense could legally reach for it, correct? I'm kinda playing devils advocate here, realizing the OP was referencing an obvious pass between two out of bounds teammates and the defender most likely even crosses the plane himself to grab the ball. Here I have the obvious T, but think we have to be careful regarding exactly where the pass is headed, and at what point it is touched.
|
|
|||
|
Yes, we (and the players) have to judge whether it's a "throw-in pass" or a "pass to another teammate oob".
Sometimes you need to officiate (play). Whether the ball has crossed the plane yet doesn't matter in the first instance. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
(Actually, I didn't change a thing from the original post).
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
|
I guess what I'm asking is suppose Team A has a spot throwin on their baseline about half way to corner. With Team B in a 2-3 zone, A1 attempts to throw the inbounds pass to a shooter in far corner. B5 standing near baseline under basket reaches for pass and knocks it back out of bounds. Even if he contacted ball prior to ball breaking plane, how many of us have a T here or should we?
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Violation or legal? | refguy | Basketball | 9 | Wed Jan 21, 2009 09:15am |
| legal play? or Not? | Johnny Ringo | Basketball | 21 | Thu Mar 27, 2008 02:46am |
| Legal play? | Johnny Ringo | Basketball | 9 | Wed Nov 28, 2007 11:03am |
| Was this a legal play | refnrev | Volleyball | 6 | Thu Feb 10, 2005 10:54am |
| Legal Backcourt Violation: who calls it?? | David Clausi | Basketball | 11 | Fri Dec 31, 1999 09:55pm |