The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 25, 2012, 08:41pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Note the entire phrase..."into the path". Movement itself is not necessarily illegal, it is where the movement takes the player.
Exactly. Movement within the path is allowable, IMO.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 25, 2012, 08:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NB/PEI, Canada
Posts: 788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Are you sure about that? Is that really what the rule says?

"He has the right to land on another place on the playing court provided that the landing place and the direct path between the take-off and landing place is not already occupied by an opponent(s) at the time of take-off.
If a player has taken off and landed but his momentum causes him to contact an opponent who has taken a legal guarding position beyond the landing place, the jumper is responsible for the contact.
An opponent may not move into the path of a player after that player has jumped into the air."

As I read this he cannot move into a position (move into the path) of a player after the player has jumped in the air that the player could rightfully land in or pass through.


Nope...it is not about the rebounding advantage. It is about the advantage the shooter gained by taking a path to the shot that is through the defender...even if it is after the release.

He didn't take that path to the shot. He's release his shot and still is airborne but will not be disadvantaged by contact.

If a shot was blocked into the 3rd throw and then the collision happened that was caused by the defense would you call that on on the defense? Its about the nature of the play. If their is contact at any point but doesn't gain/create advantage/disadvantage then we no call. Isn't that the nature of no call? The contact isn't helping/hurting either players ability to do anything.
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game!

Me: Thanks, but why the big rush.

Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 25, 2012, 08:56pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
If the defender ends up on the floor, that's displacement worthy of a foul. He's blocked that path and the shooter is obligated to not run him over. The pending dead ball does not change that. If I let this go as a pattern, I'd be working remedial ball for two years.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 25, 2012, 09:03pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pantherdreams View Post
He didn't take that path to the shot. He's release his shot and still is airborne but will not be disadvantaged by contact.

If a shot was blocked into the 3rd throw and then the collision happened that was caused by the defense would you call that on on the defense? Its about the nature of the play. If their is contact at any point but doesn't gain/create advantage/disadvantage then we no call. Isn't that the nature of no call? The contact isn't helping/hurting either players ability to do anything.

Yes I would, if he was still airborne. He is a shooter until he comes back to the floor. If the defense is there and has a LGP prior to the shooter going airborne, and the shooter plows him, I have PC.

When watching the slow motion, it really looks like the defensive player moved into the path of the shooter. However at full speed it looks like a PC. If the ref calls a block on that exact same play, we have 2 shots.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 25, 2012, 09:13pm
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Shoot the FTs with no one on the line. Teams must remain at their bench areas until the half ends (when the second FT ends).
How do you decide when time goes back on the clock and when it doesn't?
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 25, 2012, 09:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
Block or charge or no call...how would you handle at whatever various levels you work (including if you're able to use replay)?
Block. Defender moves laterally into the shooter's path after he leaves the floor. Without the lateral movement, there would be very little contact on the play.

If you're officiating the defender and not ballhawking on the shooter, it's not a difficult call.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 25, 2012, 09:18pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
For those wondering, the officials in the clip went the replay to verify that 1.) the foul occurred before the expiration of time, or 2.) that if the foul occurred after the horn, that the ball was released before 0:00.00 on the clock. After review, they determined the foul occurred with .3 on the clock. As both teams had already gone to their locker rooms, they came back out after halftime, put .3 on the clock...inbounded to end the 2nd quarter, then started the 3rd quarter immediately.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 25, 2012, 09:19pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
How do you decide when time goes back on the clock and when it doesn't?
If someone on the crew sees time on the clock at or after the whistle, you put that on. If not, you don't.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 25, 2012, 10:52pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
For those wondering, the officials in the clip went the replay to verify that 1.) the foul occurred before the expiration of time, or 2.) that if the foul occurred after the horn, that the ball was released before 0:00.00 on the clock. After review, they determined the foul occurred with .3 on the clock. As both teams had already gone to their locker rooms, they came back out after halftime, put .3 on the clock...inbounded to end the 2nd quarter, then started the 3rd quarter immediately.
Common sense does exist at times.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 25, 2012, 11:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pantherdreams View Post
He didn't take that path to the shot.
He was going to get hit whether he moved or not. He was hit square in the chest and had only move his torso a few inches...no where near enough make the difference in contact or none. It may be a tough call but don't bail the shooter out just because the defender shifts...the rules only require that the defender be in the path and he met that requirement. It's an easy out that too many officials take when the defender twitches or moves a bit but it isn't by rule.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pantherdreams View Post
He's release his shot and still is airborne but will not be disadvantaged by contact. If a shot was blocked into the 3rd throw and then the collision happened that was caused by the defense would you call that on on the defense? Its about the nature of the play. If their is contact at any point but doesn't gain/create advantage/disadvantage then we no call. Isn't that the nature of no call? The contact isn't helping/hurting either players ability to do anything.
It is about the fact that the shooter elected to take a path that was occupied in order to get a more desirable shot than the defense was allowing. The advantage gained was in the path taken to the shot that carried him through the shooter.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 25, 2012, 11:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
Common sense does exist at times.
Common sense tells you to finish the 2nd quarter after halftime?
I don't like the way that the crew did this. Why did they allow the teams to leave before finishing their video review of the play?
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2012, 12:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada, eh?
Posts: 1,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Block. Defender moves laterally into the shooter's path after he leaves the floor. Without the lateral movement, there would be very little contact on the play.

If you're officiating the defender and not ballhawking on the shooter, it's not a difficult call.
+1 defender does a quick hop to his right
__________________
HOMER: Just gimme my gun.
CLERK: Hold on, the law requires a five-day waiting period; we've got run a background check...
HOMER: Five days???? But I'm mad NOW!!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2012, 08:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
How do you decide when time goes back on the clock and when it doesn't?
Without replay you need to decide whether it was "a foul so close to the end of the period that the clock couldn't be stopped" or "a timing error" (or whatever the specific rules wordings are). There used to be a "1 second lag time" rule in the books.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2012, 09:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NB/PEI, Canada
Posts: 788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
He was going to get hit whether he moved or not. He was hit square in the chest and had only move his torso a few inches...no where near enough make the difference in contact or none. It may be a tough call but don't bail the shooter out just because the defender shifts...the rules only require that the defender be in the path and he met that requirement. It's an easy out that too many officials take when the defender twitches or moves a bit but it isn't by rule.


It is about the fact that the shooter elected to take a path that was occupied in order to get a more desirable shot than the defense was allowing. The advantage gained was in the path taken to the shot that carried him through the shooter.
I'm not sure we are going to agree on this one. I feel like (based on what I'm seeing in slo mo) that the defender moved his feet once the player was airborne to get into his path - where he wasn't previous with his feet and chest. That being said at game speed it looked good by the defender.

I understand why the contact and occured and who you are saying is responsible. If the same actions took place but the defense was much larger then the offense and their was little to no displacement. Then you would most likely no call it in any siutation. Almost certainly at the end of the quarter. In this case there is significant displacment but the displacement doesn't gain an advantage or put at a disadvantage the way it normally would because of the clock situation. I'm not arguing to routinely make a pattern of no calling this, but that in isolation the clock situation creates no call as it has no immediate impact on the play.
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game!

Me: Thanks, but why the big rush.

Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2012, 10:03am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pantherdreams View Post
I'm not sure we are going to agree on this one. I feel like (based on what I'm seeing in slo mo) that the defender moved his feet once the player was airborne to get into his path - where he wasn't previous with his feet and chest. That being said at game speed it looked good by the defender.
I agree. At super slow motion, you see the defense move slightly to his right, however at full speed I have no problem with how this played was called.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Block/Charge? APG Basketball 122 Fri Jun 15, 2007 01:53pm
Block/Charge IREFU2 Basketball 28 Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:53pm
Block/Charge harmbu Basketball 12 Thu Feb 19, 2004 09:05pm
Block - Charge (consider this) footlocker Basketball 35 Thu Feb 12, 2004 03:10pm
Block/Charge DJ Basketball 22 Thu Jan 29, 2004 01:36pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1