![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
NFHS:
I like a PC foul on the airborne shooter. The defender had LGP and had his spot (despite a little wiggle visible in super slo-mo) before the shooter went airborne. The foul occurred before the horn, but by less than a second. At my level, we're not putting that little time back on the clock (and some clocks don't register tenths anyway). End of period.
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything. |
|
|||
|
Defensive player is repositioning body and feet laterally once the player is airborne. If I feel like contact happened before the clock expired and we've been calling everything on shooters/defenders all night. Then blocking on the defense.
My gut as a stand along play says its the end of quarter, the shot is off and airborne way before contact happens, so offense is not disadvantaged at all and contact isn't impacting play. No Call.
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game! Me: Thanks, but why the big rush. Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
While this might not qualify as a train wreck, we've got two bodies on the floor. In my association (the HS level) we're told there has to be a whistle on this. |
|
|||
|
But what is the rule? Does it say anything about such things?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
But what is the rule? Does it say anything about such things?
Says that the defensive player must occupy the position on the floor before the offensive player leaves the floor. If they move to occupy a space once the player is in the air they are responsible for illegal contact. I only picked it up on the slow mo though. I disagree. It isn't a no call. He is airborne and still a shooter until he returns to the floor. Have to make some call on that. So you are not considering time as a determining factor here. There will no rebound, there will be no chance to inbound/outlet the ball. The shot cannot be effected and nothing else can occur during the time period. I understand protecting the shooter but in this situation calling something doesn't impact the result of the play or the next play. Advantage/ disadvantage?
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game! Me: Thanks, but why the big rush. Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Can someone remind me the procedure for what to do if there is a foul on a shooter at the buzzer? With references would be appreciated so I can read up a little.
|
|
|||
|
Shoot the FTs with no one on the line. Teams must remain at their bench areas until the half ends (when the second FT ends).
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
He didn't take that path to the shot. He's release his shot and still is airborne but will not be disadvantaged by contact. If a shot was blocked into the 3rd throw and then the collision happened that was caused by the defense would you call that on on the defense? Its about the nature of the play. If their is contact at any point but doesn't gain/create advantage/disadvantage then we no call. Isn't that the nature of no call? The contact isn't helping/hurting either players ability to do anything.
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game! Me: Thanks, but why the big rush. Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Yes I would, if he was still airborne. He is a shooter until he comes back to the floor. If the defense is there and has a LGP prior to the shooter going airborne, and the shooter plows him, I have PC. When watching the slow motion, it really looks like the defensive player moved into the path of the shooter. However at full speed it looks like a PC. If the ref calls a block on that exact same play, we have 2 shots. |
|
|||
|
He was going to get hit whether he moved or not. He was hit square in the chest and had only move his torso a few inches...no where near enough make the difference in contact or none. It may be a tough call but don't bail the shooter out just because the defender shifts...the rules only require that the defender be in the path and he met that requirement. It's an easy out that too many officials take when the defender twitches or moves a bit but it isn't by rule.
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
B1 is standing behind the plane of the backboard before A1 jumps for a lay-up shot. The forward momentum causes airborne shooter A1 to charge into B1. RULING: B1 is entitled to the position obtained legally before A1 left the floor. If the ball goes through the basket before or after the contact occurs, the player-control foul cancels the goal. However, if B1 moves into the path of A1 after A1 has left the floor, the foul is on B1. B1's foul on the airborne shooter is a foul during the act of shooting. If the shot is successful, one free throw is *awarded and if it is unsuccessful, two free throws result. (4-19-1, 4-19-6; 6-7-4; 10 Penalty 2, 5a) Last edited by OKREF; Sun Nov 25, 2012 at 07:33pm. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Block/Charge? | APG | Basketball | 122 | Fri Jun 15, 2007 01:53pm |
| Block/Charge | IREFU2 | Basketball | 28 | Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:53pm |
| Block/Charge | harmbu | Basketball | 12 | Thu Feb 19, 2004 09:05pm |
| Block - Charge (consider this) | footlocker | Basketball | 35 | Thu Feb 12, 2004 03:10pm |
| Block/Charge | DJ | Basketball | 22 | Thu Jan 29, 2004 01:36pm |