The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Block/Charge End of Quarter (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93013-block-charge-end-quarter.html)

APG Sun Nov 25, 2012 02:00pm

Block/Charge End of Quarter
 
Block or charge or no call...how would you handle at whatever various levels you work (including if you're able to use replay)?

<iframe width="640" height="480" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/35Uq-sSIeyY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

OKREF Sun Nov 25, 2012 02:23pm

Close, he seems to move to his right after the shooter left the floor, but hard to tell at full speed. Probably call a charge. We don't use replay. Doesn't matter if the foul occurred after the horn in this case as you are still a shooter until you until you hit the floor, and any foul would count as long as the shot was released prior to the horn.

maven Sun Nov 25, 2012 02:27pm

NFHS:

I like a PC foul on the airborne shooter. The defender had LGP and had his spot (despite a little wiggle visible in super slo-mo) before the shooter went airborne.

The foul occurred before the horn, but by less than a second. At my level, we're not putting that little time back on the clock (and some clocks don't register tenths anyway). End of period.

Pantherdreams Sun Nov 25, 2012 04:57pm

Defensive player is repositioning body and feet laterally once the player is airborne. If I feel like contact happened before the clock expired and we've been calling everything on shooters/defenders all night. Then blocking on the defense.

My gut as a stand along play says its the end of quarter, the shot is off and airborne way before contact happens, so offense is not disadvantaged at all and contact isn't impacting play. No Call.

JugglingReferee Sun Nov 25, 2012 04:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by maven (Post 863346)
NFHS:

I like a PC foul on the airborne shooter. The defender had LGP and had his spot (despite a little wiggle visible in super slo-mo) before the shooter went airborne.

The foul occurred before the horn, but by less than a second. At my level, we're not putting that little time back on the clock (and some clocks don't register tenths anyway). End of period.

Ditto.

OKREF Sun Nov 25, 2012 05:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 863349)
Defensive player is repositioning body and feet laterally once the player is airborne. If I feel like contact happened before the clock expired and we've been calling everything on shooters/defenders all night. Then blocking on the defense.

My gut as a stand along play says its the end of quarter, the shot is off and airborne way before contact happens, so offense is not disadvantaged at all and contact isn't impacting play. No Call.

I disagree. It isn't a no call. He is airborne and still a shooter until he returns to the floor. Have to make some call on that.

Rooster Sun Nov 25, 2012 06:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 863355)
I disagree. It isn't a no call. He is airborne and still a shooter until he returns to the floor. Have to make some call on that.

+1

While this might not qualify as a train wreck, we've got two bodies on the floor. In my association (the HS level) we're told there has to be a whistle on this.

Camron Rust Sun Nov 25, 2012 07:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 863349)
Defensive player is repositioning body and feet laterally once the player is airborne.

But what is the rule? Does it say anything about such things?

Pantherdreams Sun Nov 25, 2012 07:28pm

But what is the rule? Does it say anything about such things?

Says that the defensive player must occupy the position on the floor before the offensive player leaves the floor. If they move to occupy a space once the player is in the air they are responsible for illegal contact. I only picked it up on the slow mo though.

I disagree. It isn't a no call. He is airborne and still a shooter until he returns to the floor. Have to make some call on that.

So you are not considering time as a determining factor here. There will no rebound, there will be no chance to inbound/outlet the ball. The shot cannot be effected and nothing else can occur during the time period. I understand protecting the shooter but in this situation calling something doesn't impact the result of the play or the next play. Advantage/ disadvantage?

OKREF Sun Nov 25, 2012 07:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 863360)
But what is the rule? Does it say anything about such things?

10.6.1 SITUATION C:

B1 is standing behind the plane of the backboard before A1 jumps for a lay-up shot. The forward momentum causes airborne shooter A1 to charge into B1.

RULING: B1 is entitled to the position obtained legally before A1 left the floor. If the ball goes through the basket before or after the contact occurs, the player-control foul cancels the goal. However, if B1 moves into the path of A1 after A1 has left the floor, the foul is on B1. B1's foul on the airborne shooter is a foul during the act of shooting. If the shot is successful, one free throw is *awarded and if it is unsuccessful, two free throws result. (4-19-1, 4-19-6; 6-7-4; 10 Penalty 2, 5a)

OKREF Sun Nov 25, 2012 07:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 863361)
But what is the rule? Does it say anything about such things?

Says that the defensive player must occupy the position on the floor before the offensive player leaves the floor. If they move to occupy a space once the player is in the air they are responsible for illegal contact. I only picked it up on the slow mo though.

I disagree. It isn't a no call. He is airborne and still a shooter until he returns to the floor. Have to make some call on that.

So you are not considering time as a determining factor here. There will no rebound, there will be no chance to inbound/outlet the ball. The shot cannot be effected and nothing else can occur during the time period. I understand protecting the shooter but in this situation calling something doesn't impact the result of the play or the next play. Advantage/ disadvantage?

Time doesn't matter. He is a shooter until he comes back to the floor. The shot was prior to the end of the period. If he is fouled by the defense in the same situation, you would shoot the free throws.

Sharpshooternes Sun Nov 25, 2012 07:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 863363)
Time doesn't matter. He is a shooter until he comes back to the floor. The shot was prior to the end of the period. If he is fouled by the defense in the same situation, you would shoot the free throws.

Can someone remind me the procedure for what to do if there is a foul on a shooter at the buzzer? With references would be appreciated so I can read up a little.

bob jenkins Sun Nov 25, 2012 07:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 863367)
Can someone remind me the procedure for what to do if there is a foul on a shooter at the buzzer? With references would be appreciated so I can read up a little.

Shoot the FTs with no one on the line. Teams must remain at their bench areas until the half ends (when the second FT ends).

Camron Rust Sun Nov 25, 2012 08:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 863361)
But what is the rule? Does it say anything about such things?

Says that the defensive player must occupy the position on the floor before the offensive player leaves the floor. If they move to occupy a space once the player is in the air they are responsible for illegal contact. I only picked it up on the slow mo though.

Are you sure about that? Is that really what the rule says?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 863361)
I disagree. It isn't a no call. He is airborne and still a shooter until he returns to the floor. Have to make some call on that.

So you are not considering time as a determining factor here. There will no rebound, there will be no chance to inbound/outlet the ball. The shot cannot be effected and nothing else can occur during the time period. I understand protecting the shooter but in this situation calling something doesn't impact the result of the play or the next play. Advantage/ disadvantage?

Nope...it is not about the rebounding advantage. It is about the advantage the shooter gained by taking a path to the shot that is through the defender...even if it is after the release.

Camron Rust Sun Nov 25, 2012 08:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 863362)
10.6.1 SITUATION C:

B1 is standing behind the plane of the backboard before A1 jumps for a lay-up shot. The forward momentum causes airborne shooter A1 to charge into B1.

RULING: B1 is entitled to the position obtained legally before A1 left the floor. If the ball goes through the basket before or after the contact occurs, the player-control foul cancels the goal. However, if B1 moves into the path of A1 after A1 has left the floor, the foul is on B1. B1's foul on the airborne shooter is a foul during the act of shooting. If the shot is successful, one free throw is *awarded and if it is unsuccessful, two free throws result. (4-19-1, 4-19-6; 6-7-4; 10 Penalty 2, 5a)

Note the entire phrase..."into the path". Movement itself is not necessarily illegal, it is where the movement takes the player.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1