![]() |
|
|
|||
I've got a count as soon as B1 looks for someone, and a violation as soon as B2 takes off down the court.
Unless I've been briefed ahead of time with this situation, then I'm likely to rule a violation. And then when I am briefed, I would suggest a proper way to burn time from the game in this situation.
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Well, I guess I kicked it. I started the 5 count as soon as B1 had the ball at his disposal and continued it after he gave it to B2. I was at 4 when B2 was fouled. B2 was dribbling along the end line when fouled. My interpretation was that Team B had 5 seconds to properly inbound the ball and until the 5 seconds were up or I knew they had no chance of properly inbounding it, they hadn't advanced it up the court.
My partner after the game thought I should have called a violation. I have been unable to find it in the rule or case book to back up calling the violation. |
|
|||
Quote:
The NFHS issued an interp (check the Past Interp Archive) saying (a) was the correct response. |
|
|||
This is my younger kids, Rec 11U and below answer. Else, I have a violation.
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did. |
|
|||
I agree anything jr. hi and below I blow the whistle and "help them out" 99% of coaches understand your position on this type of play. The other 1% will just have to deal with it. They are young players learing the game.
|
|
|||
Team A players do not need to be aware if B is playing legally, and since no legal throw-in has taken place, B's actions only confuse A, which I don't believe is fair to A. A TI violation makes sense.
In the reverse case, when A scores and is losing, and knocks the ball away, we can go straight to the T. In that case, B never had a chance to properly play basketball. In your case, B did have a chance to properly play basketball, so I less inclined to kill the play and let them inbound again with a stopped clock. The only option left is a TI violation or a T. This T would be too much, imho.
__________________
Pope Francis Last edited by JugglingReferee; Mon Nov 19, 2012 at 12:26pm. |
|
|||
Warning Warning ...
Before, or after, a delay of game warning.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Caseplay 9.2.2 SITUATION C:
A1 scores a basket. After the ball goes through the net, B1 grabs it and makes a move toward the end line as though preparing to make a throw-in. However, B1 never legally steps out of bounds, both feet remain inbounds. B1 immediately passes the ball up the court to a fast-breaking teammate, who scores a basket. RULING: Cancel Team B's goal, throw-in violation on B1. The ball was at B1's disposal after the made basket to make a throw-in. B1 must be out of bounds to make a legal throw-in. (7-4-3; 7-5-7)
__________________
You learn something new everyday ... |
|
|||
Fixed. Tx.
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
||||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|