The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 19, 2012, 11:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 24
What do you have?

7th grade boys game

13 seconds left in the game when Team A scores to get within 34-31. Team A has no timeouts left. Player B1 ends up with the ball in the lane after the ball goes through the basket. He looks for someone to give the ball to, he never gets out of bounds, not even close to the line. He passes it to B2, who takes off dribbling like the ball had been put inbound. He is then fouled by Team A.

So my questions are, should a violation have been called on Team B and if so when? Or do they have 5 seconds to properly inbound the ball, no matter what they do with it?

Any information would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 19, 2012, 11:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,224
Violation as soon as you (the official) recognize that the pass to B2 was intended to be a "throw in"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 19, 2012, 11:36am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
I've got a count as soon as B1 looks for someone, and a violation as soon as B2 takes off down the court.

Unless I've been briefed ahead of time with this situation, then I'm likely to rule a violation. And then when I am briefed, I would suggest a proper way to burn time from the game in this situation.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 19, 2012, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 24
Well, I guess I kicked it. I started the 5 count as soon as B1 had the ball at his disposal and continued it after he gave it to B2. I was at 4 when B2 was fouled. B2 was dribbling along the end line when fouled. My interpretation was that Team B had 5 seconds to properly inbound the ball and until the 5 seconds were up or I knew they had no chance of properly inbounding it, they hadn't advanced it up the court.

My partner after the game thought I should have called a violation. I have been unable to find it in the rule or case book to back up calling the violation.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 19, 2012, 11:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by flsh224 View Post
Well, I guess I kicked it. I started the 5 count as soon as B1 had the ball at his disposal and continued it after he gave it to B2. I was at 4 when B2 was fouled. B2 was dribbling along the end line when fouled. My interpretation was that Team B had 5 seconds to properly inbound the ball and until the 5 seconds were up or I knew they had no chance of properly inbounding it, they hadn't advanced it up the court.

My partner after the game thought I should have called a violation. I have been unable to find it in the rule or case book to back up calling the violation.
This play caused quite a long discussion here many years ago. The options were (a) immediate violation; (b) wait 5 seconds; or (c) stop the clock and bring them back to do it right

The NFHS issued an interp (check the Past Interp Archive) saying (a) was the correct response.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 19, 2012, 12:00pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Team A players do not need to be aware if B is playing legally, and since no legal throw-in has taken place, B's actions only confuse A, which I don't believe is fair to A. A TI violation makes sense.

In the reverse case, when A scores and is losing, and knocks the ball away, we can go straight to the T. In that case, B never had a chance to properly play basketball. In your case, B did have a chance to properly play basketball, so I less inclined to kill the play and let them inbound again with a stopped clock. The only option left is a TI violation or a T. This T would be too much, imho.
__________________
Pope Francis

Last edited by JugglingReferee; Mon Nov 19, 2012 at 12:26pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 19, 2012, 12:02pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,643
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
(c) stop the clock and bring them back to do it right.
This is my younger kids, Rec 11U and below answer. Else, I have a violation.
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 19, 2012, 12:03pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,261
Warning Warning ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
In the reverse case, when A scores and is winning, and knocks the ball away, we can go straight to the T.
Before, or after, a delay of game warning.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 19, 2012, 12:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Caseplay 9.2.2 SITUATION C:

A1 scores a basket. After the ball goes through the net, B1 grabs it and makes a move toward the end line as though preparing to make a throw-in. However, B1 never legally steps out of bounds, both feet remain inbounds. B1 immediately passes the ball up the court to a fast-breaking teammate, who scores a basket.

RULING: Cancel Team B's goal, throw-in violation on B1. The ball was at B1's disposal after the made basket to make a throw-in. B1 must be out of bounds to make a legal throw-in. (7-4-3; 7-5-7)
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 19, 2012, 12:14pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
Team A players do not need to be aware if B is playing legally, and since no legal throw-in has taken place, B's actions only confuse A, which I don't believe is fair to A. A TI violation makes sense.

In the reverse case, when A scores and is winning, and knocks the ball away, we can go straight to the T. In that case, B never had a chance to properly play basketball. In your case, B did have a chance to properly play basketball, so I less inclined to kill the play and let them inbound again with a stopped clock. The only option left is a TI violation or a T. This T would be too much, imho.
If A scores and is winning, the case play does not apply. Kill the clock, issue the warning, and move on. A is not benefiting, as the stopped clock negates whatever advantage their player thought he would get.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 19, 2012, 12:15pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by flsh224 View Post
Well, I guess I kicked it. I started the 5 count as soon as B1 had the ball at his disposal and continued it after he gave it to B2. I was at 4 when B2 was fouled. B2 was dribbling along the end line when fouled. My interpretation was that Team B had 5 seconds to properly inbound the ball and until the 5 seconds were up or I knew they had no chance of properly inbounding it, they hadn't advanced it up the court.

My partner after the game thought I should have called a violation. I have been unable to find it in the rule or case book to back up calling the violation.
Hmmm. Did you call it an intentional foul for contact with the thrower during a throw-in?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 19, 2012, 12:26pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
If A scores and is winning, the case play does not apply. Kill the clock, issue the warning, and move on. A is not benefiting, as the stopped clock negates whatever advantage their player thought he would get.
Fixed. Tx.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 20, 2012, 12:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Before, or after, a delay of game warning.
No DoG warning needed under 10-3-5a.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 20, 2012, 01:03am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
No DoG warning needed under 10-3-5a.
I wouldn't apply 10-3-5a to a situation covered by 10-2-5e, which requires a DOG warning.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 20, 2012, 08:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
I wouldn't apply 10-3-5a to a situation covered by 10-2-5e, which requires a DOG warning.
You mean 10-1-5?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1