The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 13, 2012, 05:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
I think 4-23-1 is most DEFINITELY pertinent.

"Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent."
I agree. But that statement/principle does not just apply to guarding. You can find it in other situations as well such as in the definition of rebounding where it can apply to any player, offense or defense. Just because B1 is entitled to a spot doesn't mean he is or has to be guarding someone, right?
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 13, 2012, 10:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
I agree. But that statement/principle does not just apply to guarding. You can find it in other situations as well such as in the definition of rebounding where it can apply to any player, offense or defense. Just because B1 is entitled to a spot doesn't mean he is or has to be guarding someone, right?
I agree.

However, you posted, "IMHO you can throw LGP as well as all of 4-23 out the window in this situation..."

The statement I posted is exactly what makes B1's position in the OP, legal. And it doesn't appear anywhere else in the rule book.

So no, you can't throw all of 4-23 out.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Sat Oct 13, 2012 at 11:00am.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 13, 2012, 09:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wasilla Ak
Posts: 500
A.R.86. B1 is standing directly behind the backboard before A1 jumps for a layup. the forward momentum of airborne shooter A1 causes A1 to displace B1. Ruling..... offensive foul on A1. NCAA case book
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 14, 2012, 04:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Triad zebra View Post
B1 standing in the lane facing A's basket. Guarding no one. A1 grabs rebound at other end of court and goes full speed for,a layup and plows into back of B1. I have some very senior officials saying block on B1. Telling me that B1 did not have a LGP. I know this is a player control foul on A1. Can someone help me out with some fodder to convince these guys. I don't think LGP has anything to do with this play. Is 10-6-7 convincing enough?
The ruling which you seek is here: Over the back, ON the back RM article

Give this past thread a read and then consult the NFHS Simplified & Illustrated book for yourself.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are every player entitled to a vertical position on the court? MiamiWadeCounty Basketball 16 Mon Mar 05, 2012 09:52am
Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court MiamiWadeCounty Basketball 11 Tue Oct 18, 2011 01:23pm
Am I entitled to my spot? tjchamp Basketball 32 Fri Jan 15, 2010 02:04am
Who Entitled to the base? tibear Baseball 15 Wed Mar 14, 2007 07:28am
Who is entitled to the ball? Fungo Basketball 19 Thu Feb 14, 2002 03:51pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1