The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2012, 02:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 3 hrs east of the western time zone
Posts: 895
Smile Rut is Right !!!!!! Is this a campaign slogan in 2012?????

God.............. I know that I am going to get killed for supporting Rut!!!!

Big T - just a thought here ( the RULES GUYS) won't like this, but try this on for size.

A1 reaches through the plane and hits the ball, either a pass or in the inbounders hand, well he violated when he reached through the plane. You can always blow your whistle and call the violation for breaking the plane and not call an unwarranted T. You will know when player is actually attempting to reach through the plane to touch the ball. When THAT occurs, then you have a T.....

Just a little game management......

OK here comes all the rules guys with why I am wrong
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2012, 04:26pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
It's probably better to ask your assigner what he thinks, than what we think here.

The only time that my assigner observed me last year, I had a DOG plane violation. I saw my assigner a week later, and he gave me a big thumbs up for calling that. If your assigner feels differently about it, just do what the boss says.

And BigT, you can sum up your advice to the defense in only a few words, "Watch the line, 44 (or applicable number)."
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2012, 05:19pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Multiple Sports View Post
God.............. I know that I am going to get killed for supporting Rut!!!!

Big T - just a thought here ( the RULES GUYS) won't like this, but try this on for size.

A1 reaches through the plane and hits the ball, either a pass or in the inbounders hand, well he violated when he reached through the plane. You can always blow your whistle and call the violation for breaking the plane and not call an unwarranted T. You will know when player is actually attempting to reach through the plane to touch the ball. When THAT occurs, then you have a T.....

Just a little game management......

OK here comes all the rules guys with why I am wrong
You can get away with this in most lower level games. I don't bother trying, but some do and that's fine.

But I hope you realize once the thrower releases his inbound pass, the defensive restrictions are over.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2012, 05:42pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
You can get away with this in most lower level games. I don't bother trying, but some do and that's fine.

But I hope you realize once the thrower releases his inbound pass, the defensive restrictions are over.
So if A1 has a non-designated spot throw-in and is throwing the ball to A2 who is also OOB B2 can stick his hand across the plane and hit the ball?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2012, 05:45pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,500
Nice Post ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I hope you realize once the thrower releases his inbound pass, the defensive restrictions are over.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
So if A1 has a non-designated spot throw-in and is throwing the ball to A2 who is also OOB B2 can stick his hand across the plane and hit the ball?
In this case, A1 to A2 is not considered an inbounds pass.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2012, 06:58pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
So if A1 has a non-designated spot throw-in and is throwing the ball to A2 who is also OOB B2 can stick his hand across the plane and hit the ball?
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
In this case, A1 to A2 is not considered an inbounds pass.
What he said.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 07, 2012, 06:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
But I hope you realize once the thrower releases his inbound pass, the defensive restrictions are over.
Not at the NCAA level.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 07, 2012, 06:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Multiple Sports View Post
God.............. I know that I am going to get killed for supporting Rut!!!!

Big T - just a thought here ( the RULES GUYS) won't like this, but try this on for size.

A1 reaches through the plane and hits the ball, either a pass or in the inbounders hand, well he violated when he reached through the plane. You can always blow your whistle and call the violation for breaking the plane and not call an unwarranted T. You will know when player is actually attempting to reach through the plane to touch the ball. When THAT occurs, then you have a T.....

Just a little game management......

OK here comes all the rules guys with why I am wrong
There, I fixed it for you, and that is also why you are wrong.

The NFHS people actually took the time to write a nice case play on this so that it would be officiated consistently and correctly instructing us to penalize the entire act when the player breaks the plane AND contacts the ball in the thrower's hand(s), yet you choose to do your own personal thing.

Your line of thinking on this is strange.
Do you also not call fouls because the defender wasn't actually attempting to foul?
I can hear it now, "No, coach, that's not a foul because he was trying to hit the ball, but missed and whacked your shooter's arm. He wasn't actually trying to foul him."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 07, 2012, 07:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
There, I fixed it for you, and that is also why you are wrong.

The NFHS people actually took the time to write a nice case play on this so that it would be officiated consistently and correctly instructing us to penalize the entire act when the player breaks the plane AND contacts the ball in the thrower's hand(s), yet you choose to do your own personal thing.

Your line of thinking on this is strange.
Do you also not call fouls because the defender wasn't actually attempting to foul?
I can hear it now, "No, coach, that's not a foul because he was trying to hit the ball, but missed and whacked your shooter's arm. He wasn't actually trying to foul him."
Amen!
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 07, 2012, 09:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,022
I know some purists will jump on me for this, but I'm of the firm belief that 99% of the reach ins in these situations can be prevented by a simple "Don't reach over" aimed at the defender if I feel they're standing pretty close to the boundary line.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 07, 2012, 09:22am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiasco View Post
I know some purists will jump on me for this, but I'm of the firm belief that 99% of the reach ins in these situations can be prevented by a simple "Don't reach over" aimed at the defender if I feel they're standing pretty close to the boundary line.
I would hope that 99 percent of people WOULDN'T have a problem with this. Good preventative approach and common sense officiating.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 07, 2012, 09:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
I would hope that 99 percent of people WOULDN'T have a problem with this. Good preventative approach and common sense officiating.
hmmmmm
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 07, 2012, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Multiple Sports View Post
God.............. I know that I am going to get killed for supporting Rut!!!!

Big T - just a thought here ( the RULES GUYS) won't like this, but try this on for size.

A1 reaches through the plane and hits the ball, either a pass or in the inbounders hand, well he violated when he reached through the plane. You can always blow your whistle and call the violation for breaking the plane and not call an unwarranted T. You will know when player is actually attempting to reach through the plane to touch the ball. When THAT occurs, then you have a T.....

Just a little game management......

OK here comes all the rules guys with why I am wrong
It's not game management, it's ignoring a clearly written rule. I don't have a problem with reminding the defender to give space, but I don't like ignoring a rule just to save yourself the headache of a technical/INT foul.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
There, I fixed it for you, and that is also why you are wrong.

The NFHS people actually took the time to write a nice case play on this so that it would be officiated consistently and correctly instructing us to penalize the entire act when the player breaks the plane AND contacts the ball in the thrower's hand(s), yet you choose to do your own personal thing.

Your line of thinking on this is strange.
Do you also not call fouls because the defender wasn't actually attempting to foul?
I can hear it now, "No, coach, that's not a foul because he was trying to hit the ball, but missed and whacked your shooter's arm. He wasn't actually trying to foul him."
+100. Just call it. This is the stuff coaches complain about, and I think in this case, rightly so. One guy will call the Tech/INT foul, one guy will just issue the warning for reaching through the plane even though the thrower was touched, and one guy will ignore it all together. If everyone would just call it like it is written, we would hear less crap as a group. I think this applies to a lot of situations/rules in more than just basketball.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 07, 2012, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 3 hrs east of the western time zone
Posts: 895
Copyright Laws ?????

NevadaRef -

Are you allowed to change my posts.... lol !!!! B-Mac can you comment on any copyright infractions ?????

YES !!!! By rule you are correct, but at a lower level game where there is no intent lighten up my friend (those friday morning Wheaties are really kickin in). I just think that if you can get away with a violation, where it won't have a major bearing on the game then that is a good direction to go. Am I going to do it with a minute left in a tie game...YES !!!! My stones and I will step and make the technical foul call !!!!!

Peace my brothers !!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 07, 2012, 10:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 3 hrs east of the western time zone
Posts: 895
Violation or Technical Foul

OK just for kicks..........

If I reach across the plane AND touch the ball, "BY RULE"...........didn't I violate first.........
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
inbound furlu55 Basketball 3 Thu Jan 27, 2011 10:01am
Inbound Curly1010 Basketball 2 Wed Feb 10, 2010 10:10pm
Kicked ball on inbound throw in Damian Basketball 11 Wed Jun 14, 2006 03:08am
tell where to inbound brianb87 Basketball 2 Thu Feb 02, 2006 10:39pm
inbound xxssmen Basketball 2 Fri Mar 12, 2004 09:00am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1