The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2012, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
In your first case, there is nothing that I can recall that says the player can't have a drink while free throws are being attempted. However, you could assess a Tech for delay for spilling water on the court since it was not after a time out.
Rule reference please?
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2012, 01:09pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Not a 4-47, but a 10-1-5 "Similar Act"

Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
Rule reference please?
The second situation is a 4-47 DoG situation, for which 10-1-5 prescribes the penalty.

The first situation shouldn't be confused with the precise prerequisites for a 4-47 DoG situation, methinks --sorry BMac . The fact that this did not occur after a timeout is significant.
The "water on the court" episode in the OP seems to fit best under 10-1-5, "and similar acts:". However, since it did not occur after a time-out, ala 4-47, no written warning is necessary for a team technical to be given, if indeed that is what best suits the situation.

That 4-47 DoG and its oft-confused 4-38 ROP is detailed in an article found here (written for an association rules meeting), about which you are invited to make constructive comment:
https://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&p...TcxOGEyYmQ3ODk
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call

Last edited by Freddy; Thu Sep 06, 2012 at 01:32pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2012, 01:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
Best not to allow this to be confused with the precise prerequisites for a 4-47 situation, methinks.
The "water on the court" esisode in the given situation seems to fit best under 10-1-5, "and similar acts:". However, since it did not occur after a time-out, ala 4-47, no written warning is necessary for a team technical to be given, if indeed that is what best suits the situation.


IDK Freddy, they get a pass in my games. Just wipe it up, coach.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2012, 01:29pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Don't Do Text Speak

Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
IDK Freddy, they get a pass in my games. Just wipe it up, coach.
I guess the original question wasn't "would you pass on this?", but "where is it in the rulebook?"

Does "IDK" stand for "I Don't Know"?
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call

Last edited by Freddy; Thu Sep 06, 2012 at 01:34pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2012, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
I guess the original question wasn't "would you pass on this?", but "where is it in the rulebook?"

Does "IDK" stands for "I Don't Know"?
Yesssir & I'm not sure the intent & purpose of the rule quite fits this situation.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2012, 01:51pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Fine Line Between Confidence and Cockiness

Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
Yesssir & I'm not sure the intent & purpose of the rule quite fits this situation.
Cocky Response which I Won't Give: Well, I do know and am sure the intent & purpose of the rule fits this situation.

More Tactful and Reasonable Response: I guess it seems wise to always know what the rule is so as to be fully aware of what one is passing on when making a judicious decision to do so, which is sometimes fits the situation best.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2012, 01:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
Cocky Response which I Won't Give: Well, I do know and am sure the intent & purpose of the rule fits this situation.

More Tactful and Reasonable Response: I guess it seems wise to always know what the rule is so as to be fully aware of what one is passing on when making a judicious decision to do so, which is sometimes fits the situation best.
Okay, I guess I'll rule that way when I see a rule or caseplay that says, when a player spills water on the floor during a FT the officials shall assess a T.

Until then, wipe it up coach.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2012, 01:32pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
IDK Freddy, they get a pass in my games. Just wipe it up, coach.
I think Freddy is right. You don't need to use a warning. But I would give him one informal warning. Players are expected to drink during time outs. If they want to drink during play, they should be more careful about spilling.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2012, 02:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
Rule reference please?
10-1-5

ART. 5

Allow the game to develop into an actionless contest, this includes the following and similar acts:

b. Delay the game by preventing the ball from being made promptly live or from being put in play. See 7-5-1 and 8-1-2 for the resumption-of-play procedure to use after a time-out or the intermission between quarters. The procedure is used prior to charging a technical foul in these specific situations.

f. Not having the court ready for play following any time-out after any team warning for delay.

In the OP, the scenario was that the player spilled water "everywhere". If there's water on the court and the game is being delayed to clean it up, it would fall under 5b. Whether to enforce it or not is each crew's call to make.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2012, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 3 hrs east of the western time zone
Posts: 895
ACC Tourney

Years ago (90's) Larry Rose called a technical foul in the ACC tourney for water on the floor and Fred Barakat (super of ACC) said he was wrong....

It was coming out of a TO and it took about 2 minutes to dry floor......

BNR - Do you remember this ?????? The game was NC State vs. ????
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2012, 03:11pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Multiple Sports View Post
Years ago (90's) Larry Rose called a technical foul in the ACC tourney for water on the floor and Fred Barakat (super of ACC) said he was wrong....

It was coming out of a TO and it took about 2 minutes to dry floor......

BNR - Do you remember this ?????? The game was NC State vs. ????
Yep, I remember the situation. Larry Rose was right by rule but still disciplined by Mr. Barakat.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2012, 08:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
10-1-5

ART. 5

Allow the game to develop into an actionless contest, this includes the following and similar acts:

b. Delay the game by preventing the ball from being made promptly live or from being put in play. See 7-5-1 and 8-1-2 for the resumption-of-play procedure to use after a time-out or the intermission between quarters. The procedure is used prior to charging a technical foul in these specific situations.

f. Not having the court ready for play following any time-out after any team warning for delay.

In the OP, the scenario was that the player spilled water "everywhere". If there's water on the court and the game is being delayed to clean it up, it would fall under 5b. Whether to enforce it or not is each crew's call to make.

The ball was already live (in the OP)....it was "during" a FT. So, if the player misses, it is nothing, but if they make it creating a dead ball it becomes a T since a new live ball is being delayed???? I don't think so. The result should be the same regardless of the status of the ball.

The water spillage rule that has been referenced is for the resumption of play following a timeout.

The real question, ruleswise, is not whether it is delaying the game but whether the water bottle/cup is legal to be on the court whether it spills or not. If it is not legal, the player is not legally equipped, send them off the court. Would you let them play the game while walking around with an empty water bottle? If it is legal, you don't have any rule to enforce even if it happens to spill.

I believe that, technically, the a cup or bottle on the court is illegal equipment. Not allowed. The team can take a timeout, substitute, or wait until the end of the period.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2012, 09:19pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I understand your point, Camron, but would you really prevent a player from taking a quick swig of water at his bench during a free throw? Assuming, of course, there haven't been any issues up to that point.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2012, 10:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I understand your point, Camron, but would you really prevent a player from taking a quick swig of water at his bench during a free throw? Assuming, of course, there haven't been any issues up to that point.
Probably not....but I'm sure not issuing a T if they spill it unless there are additional circumstances.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2012, 11:27pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Probably not....but I'm sure not issuing a T if they spill it unless there are additional circumstances.
I agree. The rule is there if we need it, but I can't imagine not being able to fix it before needing the T.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Something's in the water Rich Basketball 35 Wed Feb 08, 2012 07:15am
DRINK YOUR WATER mcrowder Baseball 14 Sun May 01, 2005 09:50am
DRINK YOUR WATER mcrowder Softball 5 Fri Apr 29, 2005 03:38pm
Water Breaks Ed Hickland Football 11 Sun Aug 24, 2003 09:49pm
Water bottle on the Court? SOWB_Ref Basketball 6 Wed Mar 05, 2003 12:38pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1