The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Water on the court... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/92339-water-court.html)

BigT Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:26am

Water on the court...
 
I have several questions. Been looking and can't find the rule so I am doubting myself.

Team A is shooting two free throws. Coach brings over the guard to chat with him and the kid is thirsty. Coach hands him a drink while his teammate is shooting.

I thought this was dis-allowed but I cant seem to find anything to support it.

He drops the water bottle and water goes everywhere what is the procedure?

We have a 30 second time out and the girls coach is letting them drink on the court. Time to start the game and coach motions me over and there is water every where on the court.

Delay of game warning? A technical? What is the spirit and letter of the law here? What do you guys do.

Thanks in advance,

Adobe search for the lose..

BillyMac Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:40am

God Spelled Backwards ...
 
DOG warning, unless they've already been warned for any type of delay of game, in which case, it's a technical foul. If not previously warned for any type of delay, next delay, of any type, I believe that there are four types of delays, is a technical foul.

BigT Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:47am

Where does it say in the rules that trying to drink on the court is a delay of game?

Thanks again for being the first to get back to me

PG_Ref Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:56am

See rule 10-1-5 b & f.

In your first case, there is nothing that I can recall that says the player can't have a drink while free throws are being attempted. However, you could assess a Tech for delay for spilling water on the court since it was not after a time out. In your second case, since it was after a time out, you issue a delay of game warning first. After that, any subsequent delay violation would be a Tech.

Raymond Thu Sep 06, 2012 11:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigT (Post 853373)
Where does it say in the rules that trying to drink on the court is a delay of game?

...

I don't believe Billy said it was.

BillyMac Thu Sep 06, 2012 12:28pm

Timeout ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 853375)
it was not after a time out ... since it was after a time out.

I don't have my rule book here at work. How important is the fact that the spillage is after a timeout, or not after a timeout, in terms of assessing penalties, either a DOG warning, or a DOG technical foul? Is the difference (timeout, no timeout) inconsequential, or is the difference important?

Also, can the coach avoid a delay warning, or a delay technical foul, by requesting, and being granted, a timeout to clean up the spillage?

tref Thu Sep 06, 2012 12:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 853375)
In your first case, there is nothing that I can recall that says the player can't have a drink while free throws are being attempted. However, you could assess a Tech for delay for spilling water on the court since it was not after a time out.

Rule reference please?

Freddy Thu Sep 06, 2012 01:09pm

Not a 4-47, but a 10-1-5 "Similar Act"
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 853398)
Rule reference please?

The second situation is a 4-47 DoG situation, for which 10-1-5 prescribes the penalty.

The first situation shouldn't be confused with the precise prerequisites for a 4-47 DoG situation, methinks --sorry BMac :). The fact that this did not occur after a timeout is significant.
The "water on the court" episode in the OP seems to fit best under 10-1-5, "and similar acts:". However, since it did not occur after a time-out, ala 4-47, no written warning is necessary for a team technical to be given, if indeed that is what best suits the situation.

That 4-47 DoG and its oft-confused 4-38 ROP is detailed in an article found here (written for an association rules meeting), about which you are invited to make constructive comment:
https://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&p...TcxOGEyYmQ3ODk

tref Thu Sep 06, 2012 01:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 853408)
Best not to allow this to be confused with the precise prerequisites for a 4-47 situation, methinks.
The "water on the court" esisode in the given situation seems to fit best under 10-1-5, "and similar acts:". However, since it did not occur after a time-out, ala 4-47, no written warning is necessary for a team technical to be given, if indeed that is what best suits the situation.



IDK Freddy, they get a pass in my games. Just wipe it up, coach.

Freddy Thu Sep 06, 2012 01:29pm

Don't Do Text Speak
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 853409)
IDK Freddy, they get a pass in my games. Just wipe it up, coach.

I guess the original question wasn't "would you pass on this?", but "where is it in the rulebook?"

Does "IDK" stand for "I Don't Know"?

Adam Thu Sep 06, 2012 01:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 853409)
IDK Freddy, they get a pass in my games. Just wipe it up, coach.

I think Freddy is right. You don't need to use a warning. But I would give him one informal warning. Players are expected to drink during time outs. If they want to drink during play, they should be more careful about spilling.

tref Thu Sep 06, 2012 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 853411)
I guess the original question wasn't "would you pass on this?", but "where is it in the rulebook?"

Does "IDK" stands for "I Don't Know"?

Yesssir & I'm not sure the intent & purpose of the rule quite fits this situation.

Freddy Thu Sep 06, 2012 01:51pm

Fine Line Between Confidence and Cockiness
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 853413)
Yesssir & I'm not sure the intent & purpose of the rule quite fits this situation.

Cocky Response which I Won't Give: Well, I do know and am sure the intent & purpose of the rule fits this situation. :D

More Tactful and Reasonable Response: I guess it seems wise to always know what the rule is so as to be fully aware of what one is passing on when making a judicious decision to do so, which is sometimes fits the situation best. :)

tref Thu Sep 06, 2012 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 853419)
Cocky Response which I Won't Give: Well, I do know and am sure the intent & purpose of the rule fits this situation. :D

More Tactful and Reasonable Response: I guess it seems wise to always know what the rule is so as to be fully aware of what one is passing on when making a judicious decision to do so, which is sometimes fits the situation best. :)

Okay, I guess I'll rule that way when I see a rule or caseplay that says, when a player spills water on the floor during a FT the officials shall assess a T.

Until then, wipe it up coach.

BigT Thu Sep 06, 2012 02:11pm

ART. 5 . . . Allow the game to develop into an actionless contest, this includes
the following and similar acts:

I am getting ready to bounce the ball to the free-thrower and notice the kid getting a drink. He is not ready to play preventing the game from going on. That is why its illegal? That makes sense to me. If he spills it is a technical?

How rough you want to be on a coach for allowing a mess to be made during a 30 second time out is up to you? It could be a warning, DoG, or technical depending?

I have developed a lot of grey becoming an official. I am wondering if they are even allowed to bring water onto the court during a 30 second time out or ever just for the purpose of delaying the game due to a mess. Maybe you let them hang themselves and give a quick DoG for being stupid. Then how to do phrase a T could happen?

Thanks for the responses and help.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1