The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 18, 2012, 10:07pm
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
without question, rules knowledge is absolutely essential to officiate basketball, but so is knowing how and when to apply those rules. i dont think it would help one's career to nitpick things as described in this thread.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 18, 2012, 10:24pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
snaq, you make my point exactly, 99.9% of time this is a no call. of course there are going to be exceptions such as the one you pointed out, but that is not the situation described. as described this play is 100% of the time a play on, there is no point in this situation to try to determine if the first batting of the ball to start initial dribble constituted control or not. nobody in their right mind would call this a bc violation, nor would any sane coach or assignment guy expect such a call to be made.
I think this play is also useful to discuss the whole question of when a dribble begins. We've had a lengthy discussion on whether an illegal dribble violation should be called when a player (having already used his dribble) pushes the ball toward the floor but it's intercepted by a defender before it returns to his hand.

Those who claim this is a violation (and not a play-on) should call the OP a BC violation, as PC starts immediately once the player's dribble has begun. If his first push (or bat) is the start of his dribble, then it happens while he has FC status, meaning the dribble hitting the division line is a BC violation.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 18, 2012, 10:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
definitions

As Nevadaref said, "a player cannot have player control by merely touching (batting, slapping or tapping) a pass." CB 4.15 COMMENT seems to cover this play. Since it was mentioned the ball was never caught then the pass must have been batted or allowed to rebound off the hand which does not constitute player control, therefore no violation.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 18, 2012, 11:01pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
As Nevadaref said, "a player cannot have player control by merely touching (batting, slapping or tapping) a pass." CB 4.15 COMMENT seems to cover this play. Since it was mentioned the ball was never caught then the pass must have been batted or allowed to rebound off the hand which does not constitute player control, therefore no violation.

Agreed. In this case the initial bat does not define a dribble until it strikes the floor and subsequently remains in control of the player making the steal.

I see this as totally different than the player who has ended a dribble, then pushes the ball toward the floor, intending to start another, even if it strikes something else instead.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2012, 09:25am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Agreed. In this case the initial bat does not define a dribble until it strikes the floor and subsequently remains in control of the player making the steal.

I see this as totally different than the player who has ended a dribble, then pushes the ball toward the floor, intending to start another, even if it strikes something else instead.
I'm not sure how it's different, but it's possible I'm missing something. The rule is the same whether starting the dribble with a push or a bat. Further, a player dribbling a live ball is in player control.

If anything, it seems to me the OP is even more likely a violation than the second dribble scenario. One could argue that the second dribble isn't judged a dribble until the offensive player hits it again; but one cannot argue that player control starts at any point after the dribble begins. So, even if you don't judge it a dribble until it hits the floor and returns to the dribbler; it seems pretty clear that once the dribble does, player control will have started at the bat.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2012, 10:49am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I'm not sure how it's different, but it's possible I'm missing something. The rule is the same whether starting the dribble with a push or a bat. Further, a player dribbling a live ball is in player control.

If anything, it seems to me the OP is even more likely a violation than the second dribble scenario. One could argue that the second dribble isn't judged a dribble until the offensive player hits it again; but one cannot argue that player control starts at any point after the dribble begins. So, even if you don't judge it a dribble until it hits the floor and returns to the dribbler; it seems pretty clear that once the dribble does, player control will have started at the bat.
4.15 comment: "A player is not dribbling.......when he/she bats.......a pass away from other players......"

Isn't this exactly what happens in the OP?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2012, 11:12am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
4.15 comment: "A player is not dribbling.......when he/she bats.......a pass away from other players......"

Isn't this exactly what happens in the OP?
Not necessarily. Think of the whether you'd consider the first bounce a dribble if she proceeded to pick it up after one bounce. If not, then you're right. If yes, then PC starts on the bat.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2012, 04:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 843
Let me add a little twist

Team A has the ball. Team B bats the ball loose. The ball is being pin-balled. B1 bats the ball in the similar manner from the original post. The ball hits the ground and B1 gets fouled.
If Team B is in the bonus, does B1 shoot free throws?
Same question. When does Team/Player control start?
I had that play occur in my game last year. I immediately asked the Official that blew the whistle if B1 had control? His response was, "She got fouled, we are shooting free throws." I don't think he had a clue why I asked him the question. Also, he never wanted to discuss the play after the game ended.

I don't think PC was established in either situation.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2012, 04:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
I'm just saying

9-9-3?
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2012, 05:38pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
9-9-3?
Nobody had both feet off the floor in the discussion at hand.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2012, 05:41pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Not necessarily. Think of the whether you'd consider the first bounce a dribble if she proceeded to pick it up after one bounce. If not, then you're right. If yes, then PC starts on the bat.
Often a single bat followed by a catch does not equal a dribble even when it was a pass from a teammate. I don't think I've ever seen a single bat on a steal which I considered control.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2012, 06:14pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Often a single bat followed by a catch does not equal a dribble even when it was a pass from a teammate. I don't think I've ever seen a single bat on a steal which I considered control.
Often, but not always. And I have seen plenty of initial bats that are clearly the start of a dribble, some even the start of team control.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2012, 06:30pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
No Fooling Around Here ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Often, but not always. And I have seen plenty of initial bats that are clearly the start of a dribble, some even the start of team control.
Some? If it's the start of a dribble, then it must be both player control, and team control.

4-12-1: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball.

4-12-2-A: A team is in control of the ball: When a player of the team is in control.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Jul 19, 2012 at 07:27pm.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 20, 2012, 12:50am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Some? If it's the start of a dribble, then it must be both player control, and team control.

4-12-1: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball.

4-12-2-A: A team is in control of the ball: When a player of the team is in control.
My point was they all start player control, but some start team control with a bat (defensive play, or an initial dribble off of a throw in pass.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 20, 2012, 03:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
3 points doesn't apply to the initial position here because the dribbler moves from front to back court.
We have a player establishing player and team control with a dribble with one foot in the FC, one foot in the air, and the ball in the BC (first bounce on the division line). So I see this as team control being established with the ball not having FC status, due (in the spirit of if not in the fact of) the three points rule.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
T After the 4th Qtr Ends but Before OT Begins Spence Basketball 10 Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:30am
Another season begins Rich Football 5 Sun Aug 26, 2007 01:51am
The Offseason begins Larks Basketball 5 Wed Feb 28, 2007 03:34pm
And so it begins...... buckrog64 Basketball 4 Sat Nov 12, 2005 01:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1