Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I'm not sure how it's different, but it's possible I'm missing something. The rule is the same whether starting the dribble with a push or a bat. Further, a player dribbling a live ball is in player control.
If anything, it seems to me the OP is even more likely a violation than the second dribble scenario. One could argue that the second dribble isn't judged a dribble until the offensive player hits it again; but one cannot argue that player control starts at any point after the dribble begins. So, even if you don't judge it a dribble until it hits the floor and returns to the dribbler; it seems pretty clear that once the dribble does, player control will have started at the bat.
|
4.15 comment: "A player is not dribbling.......when he/she bats.......a pass away from other players......"
Isn't this exactly what happens in the OP?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.
Lonesome Dove
|