View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2012, 09:25am
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Agreed. In this case the initial bat does not define a dribble until it strikes the floor and subsequently remains in control of the player making the steal.

I see this as totally different than the player who has ended a dribble, then pushes the ball toward the floor, intending to start another, even if it strikes something else instead.
I'm not sure how it's different, but it's possible I'm missing something. The rule is the same whether starting the dribble with a push or a bat. Further, a player dribbling a live ball is in player control.

If anything, it seems to me the OP is even more likely a violation than the second dribble scenario. One could argue that the second dribble isn't judged a dribble until the offensive player hits it again; but one cannot argue that player control starts at any point after the dribble begins. So, even if you don't judge it a dribble until it hits the floor and returns to the dribbler; it seems pretty clear that once the dribble does, player control will have started at the bat.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote