The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 20, 2012, 04:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Agreed. In this case the initial bat does not define a dribble until it strikes the floor and subsequently remains in control of the player making the steal.

I see this as totally different than the player who has ended a dribble, then pushes the ball toward the floor, intending to start another, even if it strikes something else instead.
I see it the same. While you might be 99% sure of intent, you can't know it. It may appear to be the beginning of an illegal dribble, but it isn't one until it actually becomes a dribble. For all you know he may push the ball to the floor and then get out of the way of it - making it not a dribble.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 20, 2012, 09:00pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lotto View Post
We have a player establishing player and team control with a dribble with one foot in the FC, one foot in the air, and the ball in the BC (first bounce on the division line). So I see this as team control being established with the ball not having FC status, due (in the spirit of if not in the fact of) the three points rule.
Change the scenario ever so subtly.
B1 is standing, and with one foot in the FC and the other in the air bats a pass from A1 to the floor and proceeds to dribble twice before putting the other foot in the bc. Violation. 3 points does not apply. Letter or spirit.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 22, 2012, 10:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Clarification of ball location

Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
A-1 makes a bad cross-court pass that's easily stolen by B-2, who steals it with one hand and immediately starts a dribble.

Here's the crux: When B-2 starts this her dribble, she has a foot in the air, one in the FC (about 10 inches from the division line), and her dribble hits the division line. When did status begin, when she immediately touched the ball (resulting in a violation), or when the dribble is established (no violation)?
When A-1 made the errant cross-court pass, which was intercepted by a bat by B-2, was A-1 in her frontcourt - (B's backcourt) or was she in A's backcourt - (B's frontcourt) ?

It seems that the originating location of the ball could be significant, regarding a ruling of whether the interception by B-2 constituted a backcourt violation.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 22, 2012, 11:19am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
When A-1 made the errant cross-court pass, which was intercepted by a bat by B-2, was A-1 in her frontcourt - (B's backcourt) or was she in A's backcourt - (B's frontcourt) ?

It seems that the originating location of the ball could be significant, regarding a ruling of whether the interception by B-2 constituted a backcourt violation.
Why would it matter?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 22, 2012, 09:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
When A-1 made the errant cross-court pass, which was intercepted by a bat by B-2, was A-1 in her frontcourt - (B's backcourt) or was she in A's backcourt - (B's frontcourt) ?

It seems that the originating location of the ball could be significant, regarding a ruling of whether the interception by B-2 constituted a backcourt violation.

Makes no difference. The discussion centers on what point the ball is caused to go from FC to BC by B2. The status of the ball prior to that is immaterial.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
T After the 4th Qtr Ends but Before OT Begins Spence Basketball 10 Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:30am
Another season begins Rich Football 5 Sun Aug 26, 2007 01:51am
The Offseason begins Larks Basketball 5 Wed Feb 28, 2007 03:34pm
And so it begins...... buckrog64 Basketball 4 Sat Nov 12, 2005 01:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1