![]() |
|
|
|||
Camron confirmed that a kick is not a legal touch. So if the ball was first kicked by the defense during the throw in, technically the throw in did not end, so what happens next? and where? (If the offense commits a violation during a throw in, the throw in does end.)
If this was an AP throw in, does the arrow stay the same? I know a kicked ball on a throw in is unusual, but it can happen when a defender is closely guarding the thrower. Last edited by DrPete; Sat Jun 23, 2012 at 10:35pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
Is that correct??? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
![]() NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2009-10 Robert F. Kanaby, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 2009 SITUATION 3: During an alternating-possession throw-in by Team A, B1 breaks the plane of the boundary line. The official further delay by Team B results in a team technical foul. (4-42-5; 4-47-1; 6-4-4; 7-6-4; 10-1-5c)stops play. RULING: Team B is issued a warning for breaking the throw-in plane. Since the original alternating-possession throw-in had not ended, the ball is again awarded to Team A and remains an alternating-possession throw-in. Any type of ================== 4.42.5 SITUATION: Team A is awarded an alternating-possession throw-in. A1’s throw-in pass is illegally kicked by B2. RULING: As a result of B2’s kicking violation, Team A is awarded a new throw-in at the designated spot nearest to where the kicking violation (illegal touching) occurred. Since the alternating-possession throw-in had not been contacted legally, the throw-in has not ended and therefore, the arrow remains with Team A for the next alternating-possession throw-in. COMMENT: The kicking violation ends the alternating-possession throw-in and as a result, a non-alternating-possession throw-in is administered. When the ball is legally touched on the subsequent throw-in following the kicking violation, the arrow shall not be changed and shall remain with Team A. ================================= (Note by Nevadaref: By rule 4-42-5, the kicking violation by the non-throwing team is NOT one of the three items listed which would end the alternating possesion throw-in. The NFHS should have written "interrupts" or "stops" rather than "ends.") |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
New Throw In Spot ??? | BillyMac | Basketball | 12 | Mon Mar 03, 2008 06:15am |
Throw in spot | tjchamp | Basketball | 2 | Wed Jan 31, 2007 11:55pm |
Where would the throw in Spot be | kerry7 | Basketball | 3 | Sun Jan 21, 2007 03:48am |
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation | zebraman | Basketball | 6 | Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm |
Throw in spot | Adam | Basketball | 12 | Tue Feb 11, 2003 05:27am |