The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 21, 2007, 02:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Where would the throw in Spot be

Team B scores. Team A immediately calls timeout. They still have running the endline priviledges. Team A throws the ball the length of the court and is never touched by any player inbounds. Before the ball goes out of bounds, A1 while attempting to save it steps out of bounds at the other end of the court then touches the ball. Will the following throw in be at that spot or would it be back at the other end where the original throw in occured
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 21, 2007, 02:30am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
The new throwin spot will be where the thrower released the ball from.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 21, 2007, 03:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
The new throwin spot will be where the thrower released the ball from.
And this was an unannounced change in recent rules...hence the OP's possible confusion.

Until recently, the violation was for touching the ball OOB and the spot was the spot closest to that violation. For some crazy reason (someone on the rules committee had it wrong all these years and wanted to make their mistakes correct) the committee flipped the ruling that had been around forever and made the spot be the throwin spot....as if the ball went out untouched but to the team that didn't touch it. It's fully inconsistent with common sense but that's the way it is.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 21, 2007, 03:48am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
And this was an unannounced change in recent rules...hence the OP's possible confusion.

Until recently, the violation was for touching the ball OOB and the spot was the spot closest to that violation. For some crazy reason (someone on the rules committee had it wrong all these years and wanted to make their mistakes correct) the committee flipped the ruling that had been around forever and made the spot be the throwin spot....as if the ball went out untouched but to the team that didn't touch it. It's fully inconsistent with common sense but that's the way it is.
Agreed. I don't mind the change for when A2 touches the ball while standing OOB, but I'm not keen on the idea of bringing it back for a new throwin for A at the same spot when B1 touches it first while standing OOB.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw in spot bgtg19 Basketball 6 Mon Oct 30, 2006 11:46pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm
Throw in Spot Mregor Basketball 7 Mon Feb 24, 2003 08:39pm
Spot Throw-In Viking32 Basketball 4 Wed Feb 12, 2003 07:31am
spot of throw in Troward Basketball 2 Wed Dec 11, 2002 10:21am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1