The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2012, 05:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,050
FIBA does address this situation specifically in their Interpretations:

A4 is in the act of shooting for a field goal when B4 attempts to distract A4 by shouting loudly or
stamping feet heavily on the floor. The shot for a field goal is:
(a) Successful.
(b) Unsuccessful.
Interpretation:
B4 shall be given a warning which shall also be communicated to coach B.
(a) This warning shall apply to all team B players for the remainder of the game for similar
behaviour.
(b) B4 shall be charged with a technical foul.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2012, 06:34am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,336
Ford Has A Better Idea ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay R View Post
FIBA does address this situation specifically in their Interpretations:A4 is in the act of shooting for a field goal when B4 attempts to distract A4 by shouting loudly or
stamping feet heavily on the floor. The shot for a field goal is:
(a) Successful.
(b) Unsuccessful.
Interpretation:
B4 shall be given a warning which shall also be communicated to coach B.
(a) This warning shall apply to all team B players for the remainder of the game for similar
behaviour.
(b) B4 shall be charged with a technical foul.
I wonder why the NFHS hasn't tried to incorporate this interpretation. Of course the NFHS would have to change the spelling of "behaviour".
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2012, 07:28am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I wonder why the NFHS hasn't tried to incorporate this interpretation. Of course the NFHS would have to change the spelling of "behaviour".
Why should they? This ain't golf...quite frankly I find that FIBA interpretation to be silly and unneeded.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2012, 08:37am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,126
DiscoHristo in his thread starting posted the following situation and question:

"[I]is there any rule in the book stating anything about when a player is attempting a shot, and the defender runs at that player's legs, but never touches them? I've seen refs warn players for this, but I'm not sure what the warning is for? The player is not touching them, but may look like he's about to take the shooter's legs out from under him... or is it a sportsmanship call?"


Jay R, addressing DiscoHristo's question quoted FIBA Interpretation R6-A38, Statement 3:

"While a player is in the act of shooting, opponents shall not be permitted to disconcert that player by actions such as waving a hand(s) to obstruct the shooter’s field of vision, shouting loudly, stamping feet heavily or clapping hands near the shooter. To do so may result in a technical foul if the shooter is disadvantaged by the action, or a warning if the shooter is not disadvantaged.

Example:
A4 is in the act of shooting for a goal when B4 attempts to distract A4 by shouting loudly or stamping feet heavily of the floor. The shot for goal is:
(a) Successful.
(b) Unsuccessful.

Interpretation:
(a) A warning shall be given to B4 and shall be communicated to coach B. This warning shall apply to all players of team B for the remainder of the game for similar behaviour.
(b) A technical foul shall be charged to B4."


I have officiated under NFHS, NCAA Men's/Women's, and FIBA. I do not like the FIBA intepretation. I think that it is an attempt at political correctness (and I hope that there is no one from the NFHS and NCAA Rules committees reads the FIBA Interpretation because I am afraid we just might find in the NFHS and NCAA Women's Rules). That said, I understand the concern that some members of the Forum have regarding this situaion.

Per NFHS and NCAA Men's/Women's Rules there is no infraction of the rules for DiscoHristo situation. We have to wait for contact to occur and then decide if the contact is an Intentional Personal Foul or a Flagrant Personal Foul.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nfl rulebook merlin Football 4 Wed Oct 08, 2008 09:44pm
ASA Rulebook Question Stat-Man Softball 4 Sun Mar 16, 2008 12:02pm
MLB rulebook GarthB Baseball 4 Thu May 10, 2007 06:46pm
What's the rulebook say? grizwald Basketball 3 Tue May 16, 2006 12:20pm
mr. rulebook Snake~eyes Football 4 Mon Dec 20, 2004 12:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1