The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 10, 2012, 10:24pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
In order to establish LGP, the defender has to have both feet on the floor and the torso facing the offensive player...they are then allowed to move to maintain that LGP. If they move "into the path" with LGP then their movement is legal...they don't have to be "in the path" to obtain LGP.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 11, 2012, 01:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
In order to establish LGP, the defender has to have both feet on the floor and the torso facing the offensive player...they are then allowed to move to maintain that LGP. If they move "into the path" with LGP then their movement is legal...they don't have to be "in the path" to obtain LGP.
That is simply wrong. I can't say it any plainer. NFHS and NCAA rules are very clear that you are not guarding at all if you are not in the path. A player can't obtain LGP unless they're in the path. Then, they can move to maintain it once they've been in the path with both feet down and facing.

See my play above. Block or Charge?
From AR 246...
A player who is guarding moves into the path of a dribbler and contact occurs.
RULING: Either player may be responsible, but the greater responsibility shall be that of the dribbler when the defensive player who is guarding conforms to legal guarding principles. In order to establish initial legal guarding position, the defender must be facing the dribbler and have both feet touching the playing court. When the defensive player jumps into position, both feet must return to the floor after the jump before he/she has attained a legal guarding position. No specific stance, time or distance shall be required. The guard may shift to maintain his/her position in the path of the dribbler, provided that the player who is guarding neither charges into the dribbler nor otherwise causes contact.
(Blue) If having two feet on the floor is all that is needed, why does the blue part require the two feet down again after jumping into the path of the dribbler if they were already on the floor before moving into the path?

(Red) If the guard is allowed to shift to maintain their position in the path of the dribbler, doesn't that imply they had to first obtain a position in the path of a dribbler.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Apr 11, 2012 at 01:53am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 11, 2012, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 308
Send a message via AIM to IUgrad92
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
In order to establish LGP, the defender has to have both feet on the floor and the torso facing the offensive player...they are then allowed to move to maintain that LGP. If they move "into the path" with LGP then their movement is legal...they don't have to be "in the path" to obtain LGP.
In the OP, I think you have to ask yourself at what point is W1 guarding B1. I see W1 running/sliding towards B1, but never is actually guarding B1. Some, I suppose, say that because W1 is moving towards B1 (engaging her if you will), is within 6 ft, etc. that she has LGP status.

The block area to me is where W1 attempts to gain LGP, but contact occurs before that happens.
__________________
When the horn sounds, we're outta here.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 11, 2012, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by IUgrad92 View Post
In the OP, I think you have to ask yourself at what point is W1 guarding B1. I see W1 running/sliding towards B1, but never is actually guarding B1. Some, I suppose, say that because W1 is moving towards B1 (engaging her if you will), is within 6 ft, etc. that she has LGP status.

The block area to me is where W1 attempts to gain LGP, but contact occurs before that happens.
+1

Some of us see this play the same way. It seems others have a different understanding of what "guarding" actually is.

I didnt think we should apply a closely guarded count (Mens 6' - Womens 3' while holding) when a defender is within the required distance, but behind or on the side or running into the play.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Call on the court = Play on. Doris Burke agreed. What's your opinion? JetMetFan Basketball 33 Sat Apr 07, 2012 09:33pm
Block, Charge or No Call Indianaref Basketball 57 Thu May 13, 2010 03:30pm
Opinion on interference call eppyjerk Softball 4 Sun Mar 30, 2008 04:05pm
Block, Charge or No call cingram Basketball 7 Wed Jun 02, 2004 08:09am
strange block call in NIT Nevadaref Basketball 1 Thu Mar 20, 2003 02:03am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1