![]() |
|
|||
Correctable Error Time Frame-NCAA Rules
question here in regards to a correctable error regarding getting the clock reset in the last 1:00 with NCAA rules. In the Minnesota-MTSU NIT game tonight MTSU hit a 3 prointer with 7.2 seconds left and the clock then went down to :06. MTSU called a time out and during this TO the clock was not reset. After the TO MTSU pressed and Minnesota was not able to inbound the ball and called a TO. After the Minnesota TO the officials went back to the monitor and reset the clock to 7.2 seconds. Did this fall into the proper correcting of a correctable error as no time had run off the clock after the stoppage as Minnesota did not inbound the ball before the TO. The additional time didn't make any difference as on the ensuing inbounds play a MTSU player was called for a T for slapping the ball out of the inbounders hand while the inbounder was out of bounds and had not released the ball.
|
|
|||
Quote:
That being said, it did fall within the time frame to deal with it: NCAA 2-13-2c (use of replay monitors): 1. Determine whether the game clock malfunctioned or whether a timing mistake occurred in starting or stopping the game clock. a. After the malfunction or mistake, such a mistake shall be corrected: 1. During the first dead ball and before the ball is touched inbounds or out of bounds by a player other than a thrower-in. The crew was okay because, as you said, the ball was never touched by anyone other than the thrower after the time out.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) Last edited by JetMetFan; Fri Mar 23, 2012 at 12:53am. |
|
|||
They did correct it and were right to do so. I was just wondering since I had never seen it done before AFTER there was an attempt to put the ball in play. Every other time I've seen it it gas been right away.
|
|
|||
Right. But my point was that the "statute of limitations" for fixing a correctable error doesn't even start until the clock is properly started. So even if had been a correctable error (as you apparently thought), they could've handed the ball to the thrower-in, had a technical foul, shot the free throws, taken another time-out, and STILL corrected the error.
|
|
|||
Quote:
I understand. I had just never seen an attempt to put the ball inbounds and then have a timeout and THEN have the time corrected. The T came after the time was put back on the clock. But I understand what you are saying. Because the ball was never inbounded the T could have been called and free throws shot and then the clock adjusted.(or anytime before the ball was inbounded) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NCAA Correctable Error Scenario | amckell | Basketball | 21 | Sun Oct 31, 2010 12:29am |
New Correctable error casebook play 2.10.1 - NCAA treatment | CallMeMrRef | Basketball | 7 | Wed Feb 18, 2009 02:42pm |
NCAA Rules - PAT after a score when time expires. | With_Two_Flakes | Football | 16 | Wed May 23, 2007 10:59am |
Correctable error... | w_sohl | Basketball | 3 | Tue Dec 30, 2003 04:31pm |