![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() However, do when then need to determine whether he meant to go out or not? And then would we have to wait to see how many times the ball bounced if we determine he didn't mean to go out? I'm sympathetic to what your saying because I agree that it feels fair. I think it's a rough spot in the rules but one I don't think I've ever personally encountered in a real game. |
|
|||
I saw it during a scrimmage in my first year. The dribbler lost her balance and was falling out of bounds, she let the ball go and went OOB. The ball kept bouncing and nobody went for it so she ran back in and grabbbed it. The official had no whistle on it and it sparked a lively conversation between all of us with our trainer confirming it was the right call.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Quote:
She let it bounce off on its own and did not attempt to control it any longer when she realized she could not maintain her inbounds status.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Sorry - my bad. That was not what I meant to say. My internet conked out and I thought that my edit went through.
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
||||
Quote:
I've had the call once in a JV boys game. A1 trapped near the sideline about the FT line extended in his FC. Still has his dribble, but can't go anywhere. He throws it over the head of B1, towards the division line, then runs around the trap, out of bounds, to get the ball. He wasn't in control of his dribble, but he went out for an unauthorized reason, so I blew it. Of course, it was opposite table, so the coaches likely had no idea what I called and no one questioned it. I've also had the sideline play. A1 dribbling up court, comes up on B1 close to the sideline. He pushes his dribble slightly towards the middle of the court while he tiptoes along the sideline. Ball goes on one side of B1, A1 goes to the other. He gets around, stepping on the line in the process, comes back in and tracks the ball down to resume his dribble. No call.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Momentum on a kickoff | mutzman | Football | 8 | Fri Sep 25, 2009 04:12pm |
Added momentum? | canadaump6 | Baseball | 2 | Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:57pm |
NCAA: Momentum | DJ_NV | Football | 1 | Mon May 14, 2007 01:38pm |
Momentum question | sj | Football | 36 | Tue Oct 24, 2006 10:50am |
Another Momentum Exception | Ed Hickland | Football | 5 | Tue Aug 22, 2006 01:46pm |