The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 27, 2012, 01:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
The question is not whether his foot was moving, it is whether his body was moving.
Actually it's his feet...

NCAA 4-35-4
To establish an initial legal guarding position on the player with the ball:
a. The guard shall have both feet touching the playing court. When the guard jumps into position initially, both feet must return to the playing court after the jump, for the guard to attain a legal guarding position.
b. The guard’s torso shall face the opponent.
c. No time and distance shall be required.
d. When the opponent with the ball is airborne, the guard shall have attained legal guarding position before the opponent left the playing court.

Last edited by JetMetFan; Mon Feb 27, 2012 at 01:45am. Reason: spacing
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 27, 2012, 01:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
Actually it's his feet...

NCAA 4-35-4
To establish an initial legal guarding position on the player with the ball:
a. The guard shall have both feet touching the playing court. When the guard jumps into position initially, both feet must return to the playing court after the jump, for the guard to attain a legal guarding position.
b. The guard’s torso shall face the opponent.
c. No time and distance shall be required.
d. When the opponent with the ball is airborne, the guard shall have attained legal guarding position before the opponent left the playing court.
Actually, it is not.

Read the rest of the rule. Two feet on the court is a momentary requirement, not a static requirement. Once two feet were down with the defender in the path (they were down long before the final position was achieve and well before the contact), they no longer have to be on the floor. The foul was because the defender was moving forward after they could no longer legally do so.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 27, 2012, 02:12am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,553
I also body seem to only be a factor if the player is not vertical towards the ball handler. In other words leaning toward the ball handler in a way that it does not allow the space of the opponent.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 27, 2012, 07:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
I also body seem to only be a factor if the player is not vertical towards the ball handler. In other words leaning toward the ball handler in a way that it does not allow the space of the opponent.

Peace
Please note:English is the preferred language on this board!
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 27, 2012, 09:03am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by wfd21 View Post
Ibelieve this is Teddy's call. The drive originated from his primary and he stayed with it. I also think it was the right call.
It came from his primary but the contact was on a secondary defender, thus I believe the L needs to have a whistle here.

This is a good video to discuss mechanics.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
I beg to differ.

His right foot was down but his left foot was still moving into position as the shooter went airborne. Also, he couldn't have attained LGP until he was out of the RA since he was a secondary defender so the position of his feet on his final two steps matters even more.
After watching the video a few times in full screen, that's how I'm seeing it as well. If this is Fed, I think perhaps the lack of an RA would give him initial LGP but I still had him moving forward as the shooter went up. At any rate, a good call I think.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Based on the training I've been getting I know I would have stepped down initially.
Thanks for that tidbit.

rocky, one comment you made about pinching the paint. Isn't the L doing just that or am I misunderstanding some how?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 27, 2012, 10:18am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Another perspective

I see what APG is saying, but wouldn't the *best* outcome here be the L rotating over as soon as the player put the ball on the floor? He seemed to have more than enough time to do so.

And if the L didn't rotate, wouldn't this be the perfect time to pinch the paint a bit more since the drive came from the other side?

(I know that if I see my C step out like that to cover this as a "T", I'm coming across to make him the actual T. Someone tell me why that wouldn't be the right reaction by the L. Seems to me that the T, because of the matchup, is initiating a rotation -- I have no problem with that, but as an L, I have to get over there.)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 27, 2012, 10:35am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
I see what APG is saying, but wouldn't the *best* outcome here be the L rotating over as soon as the player put the ball on the floor? He seemed to have more than enough time to do so.

And if the L didn't rotate, wouldn't this be the perfect time to pinch the paint a bit more since the drive came from the other side?

(I know that if I see my C step out like that to cover this as a "T", I'm coming across to make him the actual T. Someone tell me why that wouldn't be the right reaction by the L. Seems to me that the T, because of the matchup, is initiating a rotation -- I have no problem with that, but as an L, I have to get over there.)
I agree about the Lead. He has to notice that Teddy went high on A1's catch and he should have come over with a very accelerated pace. He would have gotten there in time to have a perfect look at B2 before the crash.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 27, 2012, 10:18am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
rocky, one comment you made about pinching the paint. Isn't the L doing just that or am I misunderstanding some how?
To me, he's closed down, but not pinching the paint. That's my understanding, anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 27, 2012, 10:41am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
To me, he's closed down, but not pinching the paint. That's my understanding, anyway.
Either closed down or pinching, the Lead still would have been straight-lined and not be able to see the contact between A1 and B2.

The crew just didn't put itself in a good position to ref this play.

I have a supervisor who really preaches hard about the C stepping down on this play in particular.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 27, 2012, 10:44am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
To me, he's closed down, but not pinching the paint. That's my understanding, anyway.
OK, I guess I am misunderstanding then. How would pinching the paint look compared to this?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 27, 2012, 08:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Actually, it is not.

Read the rest of the rule. Two feet on the court is a momentary requirement, not a static requirement. Once two feet were down with the defender in the path (they were down long before the final position was achieve and well before the contact), they no longer have to be on the floor. The foul was because the defender was moving forward after they could no longer legally do so.
I beg to differ.

His right foot was down but his left foot was still moving into position as the shooter went airborne. Also, he couldn't have attained LGP until he was out of the RA since he was a secondary defender so the position of his feet on his final two steps matters even more.

In terms of his body, he satified part B of the rule since his torso was facing A1 as he tried to establish. It's parts A and D where he missed.

Last edited by JetMetFan; Mon Feb 27, 2012 at 08:40am. Reason: adding info
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 27, 2012, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
I beg to differ.

His right foot was down but his left foot was still moving into position as the shooter went airborne. Also, he couldn't have attained LGP until he was out of the RA since he was a secondary defender so the position of his feet on his final two steps matters even more.

In terms of his body, he satified part B of the rule since his torso was facing A1 as he tried to establish. It's parts A and D where he missed.
Agreed, initially thought PC but after 8-9 plays and stop action.......good call IMO. Still moving over as shooter alights
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 27, 2012, 11:21am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30 View Post
Agreed, initially thought PC but after 8-9 plays and stop action.......good call IMO. Still moving over as shooter alights
If it's close enough that I have to go to that much trouble to see it was a block, I'd like to think I'd go PC.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 27, 2012, 04:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
If it's close enough that I have to go to that much trouble to see it was a block, I'd like to think I'd go PC.
A valid point.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 27, 2012, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
I beg to differ.

His right foot was down but his left foot was still moving into position as the shooter went airborne.
The last time his left foot touched, perhaps....but it was down 1-2 times before that. He was in the path and had both feet down several times before he reached his final position....but he was moving forward after the shooter was airborne.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
Also, he couldn't have attained LGP until he was out of the RA since he was a secondary defender so the position of his feet on his final two steps matters even more.
Even you agree since you're mentioning his final two steps....the previous steps satisfied the two-feet on the court provision.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
In terms of his body, he satified part B of the rule since his torso was facing A1 as he tried to establish. It's parts A and D where he missed.

And a player can have LGP in the RA. Until the play develops, you can't conclude he is a secondary defender. If the dribbler/driver stops, pivots and then collides, he has become a primary defender and the position is legal. If the driver/dribbler continues in one motion, the position is not legal.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After punt fiasco Rock Chalk Football 7 Sat Sep 26, 2009 08:24pm
Fiasco in SD Cub42 Baseball 7 Sat Sep 29, 2007 01:33am
Dropped 3rd Stike Fiasco njdevs00cup Baseball 21 Thu May 03, 2007 02:39pm
Fair Catch Fiasco parepat Football 16 Thu Feb 03, 2005 04:23am
Infield Fly Fiasco spots101 Baseball 45 Wed Oct 30, 2002 03:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1