![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
NCAA 4-35-4 To establish an initial legal guarding position on the player with the ball: a. The guard shall have both feet touching the playing court. When the guard jumps into position initially, both feet must return to the playing court after the jump, for the guard to attain a legal guarding position. b. The guard’s torso shall face the opponent. c. No time and distance shall be required. d. When the opponent with the ball is airborne, the guard shall have attained legal guarding position before the opponent left the playing court. Last edited by JetMetFan; Mon Feb 27, 2012 at 01:45am. Reason: spacing |
|
|||
Quote:
Read the rest of the rule. Two feet on the court is a momentary requirement, not a static requirement. Once two feet were down with the defender in the path (they were down long before the final position was achieve and well before the contact), they no longer have to be on the floor. The foul was because the defender was moving forward after they could no longer legally do so.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
I also body seem to only be a factor if the player is not vertical towards the ball handler. In other words leaning toward the ball handler in a way that it does not allow the space of the opponent.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city |
|
|||
Quote:
This is a good video to discuss mechanics. Quote:
Quote:
rocky, one comment you made about pinching the paint. Isn't the L doing just that or am I misunderstanding some how?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
||||
Another perspective
I see what APG is saying, but wouldn't the *best* outcome here be the L rotating over as soon as the player put the ball on the floor? He seemed to have more than enough time to do so.
And if the L didn't rotate, wouldn't this be the perfect time to pinch the paint a bit more since the drive came from the other side? (I know that if I see my C step out like that to cover this as a "T", I'm coming across to make him the actual T. Someone tell me why that wouldn't be the right reaction by the L. Seems to me that the T, because of the matchup, is initiating a rotation -- I have no problem with that, but as an L, I have to get over there.) |
|
|||
Quote:
His right foot was down but his left foot was still moving into position as the shooter went airborne. Also, he couldn't have attained LGP until he was out of the RA since he was a secondary defender so the position of his feet on his final two steps matters even more. In terms of his body, he satified part B of the rule since his torso was facing A1 as he tried to establish. It's parts A and D where he missed. Last edited by JetMetFan; Mon Feb 27, 2012 at 08:40am. Reason: adding info |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
And a player can have LGP in the RA. Until the play develops, you can't conclude he is a secondary defender. If the dribbler/driver stops, pivots and then collides, he has become a primary defender and the position is legal. If the driver/dribbler continues in one motion, the position is not legal.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Yep snaqs that was what I was thinking. He was moving his foot after he got to the spot but he was definately in the path of the ballhandler and not moving forward after the player went airborne. So I have a charge on that end and then it looks like the contact occurs after the ball handler lands. It's close but I got a charge on that end as well.
Last edited by Sharpshooternes; Mon Feb 27, 2012 at 10:59am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
After punt fiasco | Rock Chalk | Football | 7 | Sat Sep 26, 2009 08:24pm |
Fiasco in SD | Cub42 | Baseball | 7 | Sat Sep 29, 2007 01:33am |
Dropped 3rd Stike Fiasco | njdevs00cup | Baseball | 21 | Thu May 03, 2007 02:39pm |
Fair Catch Fiasco | parepat | Football | 16 | Thu Feb 03, 2005 04:23am |
Infield Fly Fiasco | spots101 | Baseball | 45 | Wed Oct 30, 2002 03:48pm |