The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 27, 2012, 02:12am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,576
I also body seem to only be a factor if the player is not vertical towards the ball handler. In other words leaning toward the ball handler in a way that it does not allow the space of the opponent.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 27, 2012, 08:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Actually, it is not.

Read the rest of the rule. Two feet on the court is a momentary requirement, not a static requirement. Once two feet were down with the defender in the path (they were down long before the final position was achieve and well before the contact), they no longer have to be on the floor. The foul was because the defender was moving forward after they could no longer legally do so.
I beg to differ.

His right foot was down but his left foot was still moving into position as the shooter went airborne. Also, he couldn't have attained LGP until he was out of the RA since he was a secondary defender so the position of his feet on his final two steps matters even more.

In terms of his body, he satified part B of the rule since his torso was facing A1 as he tried to establish. It's parts A and D where he missed.

Last edited by JetMetFan; Mon Feb 27, 2012 at 08:40am. Reason: adding info
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 27, 2012, 10:46am
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
The question is not whether his foot was moving, it is whether his body was moving.
Yep snaqs that was what I was thinking. He was moving his foot after he got to the spot but he was definately in the path of the ballhandler and not moving forward after the player went airborne. So I have a charge on that end and then it looks like the contact occurs after the ball handler lands. It's close but I got a charge on that end as well.

Last edited by Sharpshooternes; Mon Feb 27, 2012 at 10:59am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 27, 2012, 10:59am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
Yep snaqs that was what I was thinking. He was moving his foot after he got to the spot but he was definately in the path of the ballhandler and not moving forward after the player went airborne. So I have a charge on that end and then it looks like the contact occurs after the pall handler lands. It's close but I got a charge on that end as well.
That's how I saw the play but I fully understand those who think B2 wasn't legal. Though Teddy may be right on the call, b/c he was stacked it feels like he was guessing. Pure speculation on my part, but from his angle I think he could see B2's left foot moving because it was outside A1's body, and he judged that B2 was still moving into position after A1 went airborne.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 27, 2012, 11:27am
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post

In women's three-person they'd have our head for making that call across the lane
Not sure where you are working Women's 3 person mechanics, but around here they would have our heads for NOT having a whistle on this play from Lead as it was a secondary defender who came from L's primary area.

Granted, L was in a bad position and the evaluator would ream the L for that first, but that secondary defender should have been L's call.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 27, 2012, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 574
imho, 95% of the time when an offensive player takes a "running-floater", the defensive player DID NOT establish LGP prior to the shooter leaving the ground.....

this play (and the 95% of the other ones like this) is a BLOCK!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 27, 2012, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by twocentsworth View Post
imho, 95% of the time when an offensive player takes a "running-floater", the defensive player DID NOT establish LGP prior to the shooter leaving the ground.....

this play (and the 95% of the other ones like this) is a BLOCK!
So, you base the call against the defense on the type of shot the offense takes?

Where do I find more information on this?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 27, 2012, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
So, you base the call against the defense on the type of shot the offense takes?

Where do I find more information on this?

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 27, 2012, 01:05pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by twocentsworth View Post
imho, 95% of the time when an offensive player takes a "running-floater", the defensive player DID NOT establish LGP prior to the shooter leaving the ground.....

this play (and the 95% of the other ones like this) is a BLOCK!
This play may be a block, but your first paragraph is just wrong, IMHO.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 27, 2012, 03:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
Not sure where you are working Women's 3 person mechanics, but around here they would have our heads for NOT having a whistle on this play from Lead as it was a secondary defender who came from L's primary area.

Granted, L was in a bad position and the evaluator would ream the L for that first, but that secondary defender should have been L's call.
Sorry, I meant as the primary whistle on that play. If he's secondary - which he should be - that's a different story. But if he's across the lane his whistle should come in later than the C's.

I still don't have a problem with L not putting a whistle on this particular play since he appeared to be straight-lined when the contact took place. He probably should've rotated once there was pressure in front of Valentine but he hesitated.

Last edited by JetMetFan; Mon Feb 27, 2012 at 03:46pm. Reason: add
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 27, 2012, 12:33am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,157
My 2 cents or 95%.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post

I think that we can all agree that this play is a great example of a BANG-BANG play.

I have always been a firm believer that if one calls a Charge everytime on a BANG-BANG block-charge play, then one will be correct at least 95% of the time. This play is one of the 5% plays. That said, I called a charged the first time I saw it in real time because the defender obtained his position after the offensive player went airborne; it was close, very close, but I still had a block.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After punt fiasco Rock Chalk Football 7 Sat Sep 26, 2009 08:24pm
Fiasco in SD Cub42 Baseball 7 Sat Sep 29, 2007 01:33am
Dropped 3rd Stike Fiasco njdevs00cup Baseball 21 Thu May 03, 2007 02:39pm
Fair Catch Fiasco parepat Football 16 Thu Feb 03, 2005 04:23am
Infield Fly Fiasco spots101 Baseball 45 Wed Oct 30, 2002 03:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1