Unusual NCAA throw-in violation
NCAAW game tonight: USC at Cal.
During OT USC makes a basket with 46.3 secs remaining. A Cal player goes OOB with the ball, the 5-second count starts, she drops the ball on the OOB part of the floor and steps inbounds clearly intending for a teammate to execute the throw-in. No one comes and she returns OOB and grabs the ball.
The administering official correctly whistles a throw-in violation per NCAA AR 185.
We've discussed this action before, when the NCAA made this AR. I didn't like it then and still don't now. I looked at the actual rules cited in the AR and none of them prohibit this action. Basically, I think that whoever made the interpretation made a bogus decision.
So here is my question for the HS officials out there: would you call a violation for this in a HS game? I don't believe that there is a specific case play from NFHS stating that it is illegal as there is from the NCAA.
|