View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 12, 2012, 05:57am
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
I think the interpretation is spot on. The rule - both in NFHS and NCAA - gives the thrower two options on a throw-in following a made/awarded field goal or free throw:

1. Throw the ball to a teammate who is out of bounds along the end line (7-5-7a/7-5-6b)
2. Throw the ball directly onto the court and have someone else be the first to touch it (7-6-2/7-6-3)

In your example and in NCAA AR 185, the thrower doesn't do either of those. They end up throwing it to themselves while out of bounds. That's not one of the options.
Not sure that is a good arguement. They can run the line, they can "dribble", they can toss it up and catch it. Not sure throwing it to themselves is really a reason to justify the ruling.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote