The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Unusual NCAA throw-in violation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/88261-unusual-ncaa-throw-violation.html)

Nevadaref Sun Feb 12, 2012 02:17am

Unusual NCAA throw-in violation
 
NCAAW game tonight: USC at Cal.
During OT USC makes a basket with 46.3 secs remaining. A Cal player goes OOB with the ball, the 5-second count starts, she drops the ball on the OOB part of the floor and steps inbounds clearly intending for a teammate to execute the throw-in. No one comes and she returns OOB and grabs the ball.

The administering official correctly whistles a throw-in violation per NCAA AR 185.

We've discussed this action before, when the NCAA made this AR. I didn't like it then and still don't now. I looked at the actual rules cited in the AR and none of them prohibit this action. Basically, I think that whoever made the interpretation made a bogus decision.

So here is my question for the HS officials out there: would you call a violation for this in a HS game? I don't believe that there is a specific case play from NFHS stating that it is illegal as there is from the NCAA.

Blindolbat Sun Feb 12, 2012 02:25am

This has happened a couple times
 
Seen it a couple times this year. Always in girls games for some reason. I haven't blown a violation yet, but both times were very close on the 5 second count.

Sharpshooternes Sun Feb 12, 2012 02:43am

How about 9-2-10 note?

JetMetFan Sun Feb 12, 2012 05:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 822987)
NCAAW game tonight: USC at Cal.
During OT USC makes a basket with 46.3 secs remaining. A Cal player goes OOB with the ball, the 5-second count starts, she drops the ball on the OOB part of the floor and steps inbounds clearly intending for a teammate to execute the throw-in. No one comes and she returns OOB and grabs the ball.

The administering official correctly whistles a throw-in violation per NCAA AR 185.

We've discussed this action before, when the NCAA made this AR. I didn't like it then and still don't now. I looked at the actual rules cited in the AR and none of them prohibit this action. Basically, I think that whoever made the interpretation made a bogus decision.

So here is my question for the HS officials out there: would you call a violation for this in a HS game? I don't believe that there is a specific case play from NFHS stating that it is illegal as there is from the NCAA.

I think the interpretation is spot on. The rule - both in NFHS and NCAA - gives the thrower two options on a throw-in following a made/awarded field goal or free throw:

1. Throw the ball to a teammate who is out of bounds along the end line (7-5-7a/7-5-6b)
2. Throw the ball directly onto the court and have someone else be the first to touch it (7-6-2/7-6-3)

In your example and in NCAA AR 185, the thrower doesn't do either of those. They end up throwing it to themselves while out of bounds. That's not one of the options.

Camron Rust Sun Feb 12, 2012 05:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 823005)
I think the interpretation is spot on. The rule - both in NFHS and NCAA - gives the thrower two options on a throw-in following a made/awarded field goal or free throw:

1. Throw the ball to a teammate who is out of bounds along the end line (7-5-7a/7-5-6b)
2. Throw the ball directly onto the court and have someone else be the first to touch it (7-6-2/7-6-3)

In your example and in NCAA AR 185, the thrower doesn't do either of those. They end up throwing it to themselves while out of bounds. That's not one of the options.

Not sure that is a good arguement. They can run the line, they can "dribble", they can toss it up and catch it. Not sure throwing it to themselves is really a reason to justify the ruling.

JetMetFan Sun Feb 12, 2012 07:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 823008)
Not sure that is a good arguement. They can run the line, they can "dribble", they can toss it up and catch it. Not sure throwing it to themselves is really a reason to justify the ruling.

The interpretation appears to be dealing with what the thrower does when he/she releases the ball with the intent on giving it to someone else. I know I'm making an assumption here but I think the logic makes sense.

JugglingReferee Sun Feb 12, 2012 09:10am

It happens quite often: Jennie takes the ball OOB, only to remember that Cindy is supposed to be the thrower-in. So she drops it, but Cindy isn't coming because she's way down the court.

So, then the other 3 girls need to know an obscure rule that prevents Jennie from going back to being the thrower-in?

What a stupid rule, even at the NCAA level. No, I don't think I would call this in HS.

SNIPERBBB Sun Feb 12, 2012 09:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 823028)
The interpretation appears to be dealing with what the thrower does when he/she releases the ball with the intent on giving it to someone else. I know I'm making an assumption here but I think the logic makes sense.

Still a bit of a stretch to get to that call though and the offense certainly isnt helping themselves doing this either so why would it be a violation?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1